My Reviews (82)

Sundried Tomato and Garlic Penne

This recipe is extremely easy to make and very flavourful. Perfect as a light summer time dinner, with salad and garlic bread and some wine.
Reviews (82)


22 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: MOLLE888
I'm not so sure how good this recipe would be if you followed the instructions to a tee, however I used the directions as a diving board and added my own two-cents. I used half of the penne suggested, but the full amount of olive oil. I also kept the amounts of garlic, parsely and black pepper the same. I quadrupled the amount of sun dried tomato, and added two freshly sliced mushrooms. After I sauteed the mix and added the pasta, I then added about 2 Tbsp fresh basil. The end result was phenomenal. Thank you for the stepping stone!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Claudette P Henry
This could be a 5 star dish with anyones own ideals, First I would not and did not use the whole pkg of pasta, I used more garlic than called for, I also used fresh greenbeans instead of sun dried tomatoes, and I added some shrimp I also went a little heavy on the pepper. My dish came out great and full of flavor. 5 stars !!!! I only rated it 4 stars for the orign recipe great start though thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: LOVEISTHERE
Not bad! The whole box of penne pasta ended up being a bit too much. Also, had to use several sun dried tomatos - two just kind of get lost in that much pasta! I also ended up putting in a bit of garlic powder - the three cloves were barely noticible. Also will be using a bit more olive oil next time. Pretty good overall though! Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: Veronica
Great side dish. I served mine with grilled herb chicken and steamed broccoli. I used whole wheat pasta and fresh italian parsley. I also sauteed the pasta in the pan with the oil and herbs for a few minutes to "crisp" it a little.Excellent!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: *~Lissa~*
Was lacking as is; I felt it needed more oomph. I will make again, but I will add butter, basil and more garlic and Parmesan.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: MshhhL
I agree, this is a great baseline for a fresh summer pasta! I used 1/3 box of the wheat penne instead of the entire thing. I also did not want to change up the vegies as I wanted a clean fresh simple pasta, but I did double it. I used Roma tomatoes instead of Sundried. I also sauted the garlic in olive oil with parsley.. threw in the vegies, then added minced onion, and itialian seasoning. I put that mixture aside when I felt it was ready, and took my cooked pasta and sauted it on the skillet with some olive oil and garlic powder to get it a little crisp and absorb some flavor so it was not so bland as it is wheat pasta. Mixed it all together, added crushed red pepper and fresh parmesan shavings and it was delish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: naples34102
A very familiar, "everyday" dish for me - couldn't live without it! But I've never tried it with sun-dried tomatoes. Not sure I'm a fan of that addition.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: chicklet
This was good but a little bland and dry. I used fresh grape tomatoes which I think is better than the sun dried. If I were to make this again I would definately tweak it, use salt of more seasonings and use a little more oil.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: MARCELH
I really like this one, the garlic gets nice and hot if you have leftovers the next day. Its now one of my most favorite. One thing I like to do is make the pasta get darkened in the pan. Yummy yum yum Marcel H.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: cynnabanh
I followed the recipe exactly how it states and it turned out well. The red pepper flakes definitely gave it a kick and was a hit to my dinner guests.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes