My Reviews (122)

Cheesy Garlic Loaf

This is a great recipe for the bread machine, very fragrant and tasty. Perfect with an Italian dinner like spaghetti or lasagne.
Reviews (122)


15 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: BBQHQ.net
This recipe made a HUGE loaf that fully filled my bread-maker. Cooked beautifully too! I work for a company that makes Parmesan and love this style of cheese, so added about 1/2 cup - I still reckon you could add more. Though the garlic is fairly noticeable, I'm not sure that you can taste much of the other herbs, so will add rosemary next time instead of chives and see how that goes. My wife does not like chilli, but I do - so I might make a 1/2 recipe one with added chilli too. Go ahead - make this nice bread!
 
27 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: ChefNan
For a 1 1/2 lb machine, if you change the "customize this recipe" on the bottom of the page to "11" servings you will get a perfect sized loaf. Also put in 3 teaspoons of minced garlic and went heavy on the parmesan and basil.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2001
Reviewed by: Marjory
I knew this would not fit in my 1 1/2 pound machine ( 4 cups flour and 2 1/2 teaspoons yeast would be all over the room!! I made this as a dough recipe and then baked it as a long loaf in a 350 oven for about 30 mins. IT WAS DELICIOUS!! Great bread for soups or pasta meals.......
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 May 2002
Reviewed by: beemer
The only thing I changed is I added about 10-12 small whole cloves to the mixture. I wrapped the entire bulb in wax paper and micro for 20 sec. peel and added. YUUUUUMMMMMY it is not to strong because the whole cloves are sweet like roasted and it looks so pretty when you cut it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2000
Reviewed by: BERTAV
This recipe says that you can use the rapid cycle on your bread machine so I did. To me, it didn't cook up in the inside. Maybe I did something wrong, but I wasn't impressed. If I make it again, I definitely won't use the rapid cycle.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Nov 2000
Reviewed by: REBECCA.ONEAL
This is THE BEST garlic bread I have ever made in a bread machine.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 May 2001
Reviewed by: ASHBETH
This was good bread, but did not taste like garlic, even after I doubled the garlic and garlic powder. I might make this again with more garlic, but will more likely try the other bread machine garlic bread listed here.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: JURICELL
Kinda bland and not much of a garilic flavor. We enjoyed it with garlic butter, but would add more garlic next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jan 2001
Reviewed by: VALLEE
Smells garlicy but does not taste enough. Used the stale bread to make croutons. They are good in cesar salad.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: OkinawanPrincess
This bread smelled great and baked up into a beautiful loaf. However, I found that it was too heavy, dense, doughy and raw on the inside. I was unhappy with this bread. Initially I baked it at 350 degrees for 35 minutes, then a few more minutes, totaling 45 minutes. The crust was very dark brown and hard. I think the water and flour ratio is way off. I should have known something wasn’t right when the recipe called for 1 3/8 c. water to 4 c. of bread flour. I presoaked the active yeast in warm water with 2 T sugar for 20 minutes until foamy. I added the flour in batches and the rest of the ingredients. Because some reviews stated the problem with the bread being “too salty,” I cut back on the amount to 1 tsp. I used fresh roasted garlic, 3 tsps. I omitted the black pepper. I guess I am the only other reviewer who had this kind of problem. I have made other breads from scratch and it always came out fine. I felt terrible having wasted a whole bread- I even tried to toast it but it was unedible. Second Attempt, I used only 3c. of bread flour and one package of active yeast. I added the rest of the ingredients (3 tsp garlic, ¼ cup Parm Cheese, 2 T sugar, 1tsp. salt, olive oil, fresh basil, no black pepper) to the dough,I let it rise for an hour before baking. In the end, the bread rose nicely, I had a golden brown crust, bread was warm, fluffy, full of flavor, Gave a nice aroma in the house. I could taste the garlic and cheese! 3 stars for recipe, 5 stars for my adjustments.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes