My Reviews (327)

Low Fat Banana Walnut Bread

This lovely walnut banana bread uses skim milk and apple sauce for added sweetness. Delicious warm out of the oven with a dab of melting butter.
Reviews (327)


Comment:
09 Jun 2009
WannaB_MC said:
Used different ingredients. I didn't have apple sauce so I added an extra tablespoon of milk and 1/2 tablespoon of oil. I also substituted 1 cup of plain flour with a cup of wholemeal self raising. I thought the bran in the wholemeal flour would add flavour. Turned out perfect in 1 hour. I have made it twice this way and it is great. Going on 'CookingFor7' comments maybe the cup of self raising is useful - mine certainly turned out pretty light but without being crumbly.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
ELLEN666 said:
Used different ingredients. Baked this yesterday. I used 1/2 c yoghurt instead of the 1/4 c applesauce like some of the old reviews said. Also read some reviews that said this bread was kind of bland so I added a little over a teaspoon of cinnamon. CAME OUT GREAT! Very moist! I was afraid it'd dry out since I had to leave it in the oven longer than expected since the middle was mushy, but it came out moist and perfect. Will definitely save this recipe and make it again.
 
09 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: WannaB_MC
Definitely one of the better, healthier recipes for banana bread I have tried.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
COOKINGFOR7 said:
Used different ingredients. I followed the reviewers suggestions and added an extra banana, 1tspn cinnamon, and used (1/3cup) brown sugar and (1/3cup) white sugar. I baked this in a loaf pan, so I had baked it about 75-80 minutes. When I took it out, the bottom was stil mushy, so I put it in the oven for another 10 minutes or so. By then the bread was just about ready (Although there was still a little bit of mushiness unfortunately... I didn't want the crust of the bread too burnt..). This bread was a little bland tasting. I could definitely taste the difference between this and regular banana bread. I much prefer regular banana bread. The loaf was quite dense and it did not rise enough in my opinion, so if I were to make it again in a loaf pan, I would add maybe a teaspoon more of baking powder. The recipe was alright, but I personally think there are better tasting banana bread recipes out there.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: DEETRO
Great tasting and moist without the high calories in other recipes.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: MRSMILNE
Very good recipe, I used an egg substitute and the recipe was still great(and cut the fat down even more). I will definitly put this one in my recipe book.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: COURTNEYGRIFF
This recipe is delicious. It has just the right amount of banana flavour and is very moist. You can't even tell that it is a lower fat recipe. My dog also enjoyed it (she stole half the loaf off of the kitchen counter when we were out of the house).
 
21 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: healthy eating
Amazing. Just as good as any fat-filled recipe. I did make substitutions. Used whole wheat flour, splenda, conola oil and egg beaters for an even healther treat. Also added 1/2 t cinnamon for added taste. Used 2 medium loaf pans and cooked for 40-50 minutes. Is best when served room temperature and I used I Can't Believe It's Not Butter Light
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: a217girl
Baked this yesterday. I used 1/2 c yogurt instead of the 1/4 c applesauce like some of the old reviews said. Also read some reviews that said this bread was kind of bland so I added a little over a teaspoon of cinnamon. CAME OUT GREAT! Very moist! I was afraid it'd dry out since I had to leave it in the oven longer than expected since the middle was mushy, but it came out moist and perfect. Will definitely save this recipe and make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Healthy chef
Cut the sugar in half? YES. I cut it to 1/2 c. but it was still super-sweet. Make it 1/3 c., and use 3 smashed ripe bananas. I also used half whole-wheat flour, and sprinkled in some flax seeds for a nutty texture and omega-3's. Also cut down the vanilla to 1 t, since 1 T seemed excessive, and tossed in 1 t of cinnamon. Except for being way too sweet, I would use this recipe again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes