My Reviews (314)

Seasoned Pork Chops

Here's a great way to cook pork chops - shallow fried with a seasoned coating. They are moist and delicious and crunchy on the outside.
Reviews (314)


04 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: JOYCE
This has been a family fav for years. I sprinkle my chops with seasoning salt, onion and garlic powder prior to dipping in a milk/egg wash, then the seasoned flour with black pepper added. Then I let the chops sit in the fridge for about 30 minutes to an hour before frying to get the coating "gummy" looking, so the coating will not fall off while frying. After frying the chops, I keep them warm and use the same skillet to whip up milk gravy, using the rest of the seasoned flour, pepper a little chicken soup base, salt and milk. Serve with mashed potatoes, buttered corn and biscuits. YUMMY!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: ValerieB333
Prior comments made it seem as though all that was needed here was a bit more flavor. I used (about 3/4 tsp) Goya Adobo seasoning instead of Seasoned Salt, added 1/2 tsp garlic powder and 1/2 tsp crushed rosemary, and used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. These truly were the most scrumptious fried pork chops I have ever had. I would suggest 8/9 min on each side for 1 inch thick chops.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: GRANDMA ROBINSON
Great basic recipe; thank you for sharing. Cooks have to be creative! I used bread crumbs, seasoned to my taste since seasoning is a variable. Used much less oil and I prefer olive. After they were done, place on a paper towel to get any excess oil removed; I also dabbed the top side. They are very moist and tasty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Bigmommasdaddy
For those of you that make a ton of changes to a recipe and then rate it...You are not doing us any favors! I followed this recipe to the letter and ended up with chops with no breading. Bare, naked, chops. All of the flour came off as soon as I added the chops to the grease. I have always used milk or egg or both to bind the flour, but instead I followed the recipe. Use at your own risk!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: SHERRYGILL2000
FIRST TIME TO FRY pork chops, and they really were like grandmother's/Moma's!!! Who'd ever think it was that simple. I just added about 1 tbsp. of Lemon Pepper & a pinch or two of Parsley for a bit of color. STILL, I don't think anyone can mess up this recipe (Normally, I can). They were "tender" too, mine are usually tough... The only thing missing was the recipe for the gravy following, Which is my next project, MAKING GRAVY....lol BUT I GIVE THIS RECIPE A TRIPLE AAA+++ and then some.......Thanks for submitting it......YYYYYUUUUUMMMMM!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Califsunny
I really enjoyed this recipe. The one thing I did differently was sprinkle Lawry's Seasoned Salt directly on the chop before dipping it in the flour-salt-pepper mix. This enhanced the seasoning salt flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Nbaker56
Really awesom pork chops. I used half butter half olive oil. Very flavorful and tender.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: MADISONLIBERTY
Really good! The chops turned out really tender and had great flavor! I will use this one again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: Annie8082
Fantastic I would do this recipe again. I didn't use the bag I used a flat plate added flour seasoning salt and chicken seasoning fried it taste great. My husband is very picky and he loved it. Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: ana
O.K., so let's put everyone's helpful hints together that make this dish really great! Number one, add some bread crumbs, garlic powder, salt, and maybe a little cayenne to the flour mixture. Number two-make sure you coat the pork chops in the flour mixture, then dip in an egg/milk mixture, then back in the flour mixture (at this point I just pour the flour mixture out of the ziplock bag onto a plate). Finally, let the pork chops rest on a plate in the fridge. Use no bone in, thin cut pork chops by the way. Really great recipe with some tweaks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes