My Reviews (9)

Moist Cantaloupe Bread

It may seem unusual to use cantaloupe in a bread recipe, but the end result is unbelievably delicious and moist. Serve toasted with cream cheese.
Reviews (9)


29 Aug 2000
Reviewed by: BREAD MAMA
not overpowering...a truly delicious bread that even the kids loved!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: Bernice Dray
This bread is very good. It did sink a little. Everyone enjoyed it and couldn't believe that it was made with cantaloupe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: SHARI2001
This bread not only fainted in the machine...it really is not very good. Doesn't retain any of the cantaloupe flavor. Can't imagine anyone liking it very much. ???
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Mary Beth
The bread itself tasted fine, mildly sweet, but not at all like cantaloupe. However, it boiled over and made a huge mess in my bread machine. I tried it a second time, substituting whole wheat flour which rises less and ended up with an inedible loaf of bread, and a bread machine that's practically ruined from dough that poured over the edges and burned all over the sides.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Rochelle
I was a bit wary of trying this recipe and thought ahead that it might be a waste of flour because it sounds so strange, but it turned out really well. The only change I made is that I didn't include the gluten, and I didn't have quite enough cantaloupe so blended it all and added a bit of water. I will keep this recipe and will probably make again whenever I have leftover cantaloupe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Oregon Girl
Great! I followed the recipe as written even though I questioned the paprika. The bread had a beautiful color and great elasticity. We plan on using it for sandwich bread. Even though the canteloupe I used had a strong taste, barely a hint of canteloupe could be detected. I will definitely use this recipe again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 May 2016
Reviewed by: Roxana Soltero
This recipe makes a gorgeous golden loaf with a delicate scent, can't say it is actual cantaloupe but the actual fruit's flavor isn't that strong to begin with. The texture turned out a little bit moist and crumbly, almost like cornbread, also did not grow as much as I expected considering the amount of flour, but I did not have vital gluten on hand which could have likely caused this. Will definitely make again if I find myself with too much cantaloupe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Sep 2015
Reviewed by: LeighAnne Cully
I made this gluten free, so used 2 1/2 cups of puree and no chunks. It rose beautifully, has a great crumbled flavor and lovely color
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: awalker37
Definitely not a fan of this bread. I'm not the world biggest fan of melon, granted. But this bread was overpowering. Not my cup of tea.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes