My Reviews (211)

Cinnamon Breakfast Muffins

This is a lovely light muffin recipe, perfect for a sweet breakfast. They are fairly quick and easy to make and scented with nutmeg.
Reviews (211)


09 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: NORTHWESTMOM
The entire family LOVES these. Recipe is wrong. Do *not* sift the 1/2 cup sugar in with the dry ingredients. Make sure it gets left out to cream with the shortening. These are moist and delicious and YUMMMMMMMY!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
Instead of shortening, I used butter. I also used whole wheat white flour and buttermilk. When dropping them into the mini muffin tins, I used my small cookie scoop not only to make uniform sized muffins but it was just easier to make just the right amount for each muffin cup. I also used butter for the "dip" part, too. My family basically had these gone in a matter of seconds. Next time, I'll double the recipe and I think I'll add a little more spice when I make it and maybe some vanilla or maple flavoring to the "puff" part. NOTE: When you make these, be sure to watch them carefully as you reach the end of baking time. Mine were a bit overdone.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: LDYBLUNH
something's off with the sugar - recipe calls for 1/2c sugar which in step 2 is supposed to be added to the flour; and then you're supposed to cream sugar and shortening together. but you've already put the sugar into the flour -- so i dont know where the error is
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: Jillian
These definitely are delicious, slightly sweet, bite-sized treats! You might be tempted as I was to nibble on them on all day...! My husband just loved these with a nice cup of coffee. I used butter instead of shortening and I happen to like spices so I used 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg in these plus 1/2 tsp. of vanilla. The end result is a very light, moist, irresistable little treat that's easy to make!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: Kirsty Brook
Apsolutely deliciuos, they are so light and also light in cals. If you don't have nutmeg just put cinoman in it is just as good, i also made it as a cake as my friend did not have a muffin tin, just cook a little longer about 20-25 mins.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Cheesecakemama
I can see if left as is these would be bland. I made the recipe as is, except I did not have shoretning, I subed oil. ok folks.. make these as mini muffins and dip the whole muffin in the butter and roll in cin/sugar mix. You have a great treat. As a large muffin you are going to get bland, there is not enough spice in the batter to make these tasty. It kinda reminds you of a donut hole with cin/sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Lumielle
My grandma used to make these when I was a little girl and they are still a favorite of mine after all these years. She would bake them in a cast iron muffin tin shaped like bears and then dip the whole muffin in butter and roll in the cinnamon and sugar mixture. I make them the same way, except I add a teaspoon of vanilla extract to the batter for additional flavor. Love these and the memories that come with them!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Dum Dum Head
Great recipe, suggest using mini-muffin tins to maximize the cinnamon-sugar surface area to mass ratio.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: ANGELA1982
I did also notice the mistake with the sugar, so I just added it to the shortening. They came out great! My husband ate them all!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: harpo
For those that think the recipe is wrong,it's not. You cream the 1/2 cup sugar with the shortening. Salt goes in with the flour. The other half cup sugar is mixed with the cinnamon to top the puffs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes