My Reviews (185)

Tomato and Prawn Pasta with Feta

This is my favourite seafood pasta because it is so simple. Linguine and prawns are served in a tomato sauce with feta cheese.
Reviews (185)


18 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: WISEREADER
I have given 5 star ratings before, but I have to say that this leads them all! Fire roasted tomatoes was pure genious especially when combined with the feta cheese. Because of the salt content in both the tomatoes and the feta cheese, I opted not to add any additional salt. It was not missed, in fact, it was perfect. For a double recipe I used 3 cans of the tomatoes and a pound and a half of the larger (21-25 count) shrimp. Will I make this again? , oh yeah.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: bri
This dish was spectacular. It tasted like I was eating at a very nice italian restaurant, but it was so simple to make. This is something I will make again and again! Everybody should try this one. I made it with brushetta and it was a fabulous meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Cindy Newell
This was an excellent recipe! A welcome change. I did use a few more shrimp and cut them in half to better distribute them. It made far more than two servings. At least 3 if not 4 depending on the appetite. I did have a hard time finding the fire roasted tomatoes, but I'm glad I did. This would have been very bland without them. Thanks!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 May 2009
Reviewed by: mermaid
Tastes good. Don't add extra salt due to the shrimp, tomatoes, and feta. Feta is a very salty cheese. For those who can't find the fire roasted tomatoes, Safeway carries Hunt's brand, but I prefer Muir Glen Brand. They are organic, and have a wonderful roasted tomato flavor, deeper than the Hunt's brand. Also, they don't have that canned tomato taste as much as the Hunt's brand does. They can be found in your grocers organic foods section or at a health food stores. They are pricey, but well worth it. It's the only canned tomato I use.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Floridafoodie
I make a very similar recipe. It has been my go to shrimp pasta recipe for years. I saute a small onion in olive oil, then add the garlic cloves for one minute. Then I add the fire roasted tomatoes, 1/2 c. white wine, fresh chopped oregano and some red pepper flakes. I simmer this together for 15 minutes or so. After the pasta is done, I add the shrimp to the sauce and cover the pot. When they have turned pink, I crumble in 4 oz. feta and stir well. Pour it over the pasta, garnish with fresh parsley and serve. Key is not to overcook the shrimp. Cheese does not need to melt, just be distributed well in sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Katie the Cook
wow! I am 13 and i made this for my parents (as i love cooking and pretty much cook everything) and they both said it was the best meal I has ever made. i made the recipe yield 4 servings and used 3 servings of those little baby frozen shrimp amnd the fun pink striped noodles i bought at a specialty store. next time i will use more shrimp or only cook the 3 servings my family needs! and everyone should try this! it was like a restaraunt in italy and with fresh toasted garlic bread it is even better!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Cookeratheart
YUM! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! First off, this is SUPER EASY - and really good. I, too had to hunt for the fire roasted tomatoes and they are worth it. I also used a lot more shrimp, frozen raw. Unless you can find the really huge (and expensive) big prawns you really need to use a pound. I also used butter instead of olive oil to saute the garlic. I also used more like a cup of feta and put it in the pasta when it was really hot so when I mixed everything up it gave it more of a creamy texture but the flavor of the feta came through. Also used dried basil instead of fresh and that was fine too. My husband said "this is like a restaurant meal" and it took me 15 minutes!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Michelle Mac
This is a great little whip up recipe. I couldn't find the fire roasted tomatoes, but subsititued them with a chilli tomato concotion and everyone is still raving about it. I also finely diced up some red (spanish) onion and half a carrot for a little more flavouring and a little chilli... Yum! =))
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Cemetery
This recipe was absolutely delicious. The flavors complemented one another perfectly and the shrimp was an excellent addition to the pallet. We used 12 shrimp and cut them in half to ensure they lasted longer. I would probably recommend adding more shrimp (maybe 20?) & cutting them in half. The easy-peel shrimp were not costly & were very good. Another good addition to the recipe would be olives. This recipe received 5 stars because my husband just couldn't stop raving about it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Peekajinx
This was amazing! Of all the recipes I have tried on here so far, this is the one the family keeps asking for. I did use dried basil because I couldn't find any fresh basil in the store. When I told my husband it was fire roasted tomatoes, he thought it was going to be spicy but it's not at all. I love the way the flavors of the tomato and the feta intermingle. This is an all around great recipe. I highly recommend it! If you or someone you know doesn't care for shrimp, you might try substituting for chicken pieces. I did this for a friend and it still came out great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes