My Reviews (35)

Almond Stick Biscuits

These easy biscuits are a Finnish tradition. They are formed into sticks and rolled in sugar and almonds before being baked. You'll love them!
Reviews (35)


04 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: AEMAZA
These were our favorite new Christmas cookies. I hated the double dipping, & decided after to mix colored sugar with the nuts and put them on at once. They looked fabulous & the nuts didn't have trouble sticking once the sugar was on, as in the original directions. With these modifications, 5 stars. The taste is a wonderful almond flavor. Without modifications, because of the mess I'd say 4 stars.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: momto2sweetpeas
I cannot believe that these cookies haven't been reviewed here for 3 years? I made these cookies today. They taste wonderful. They remind me of marzipan! My dough was a little on the dry side and hard to work with, so next time I would try 2.75 cups of flour and see how it is then before adding the full 3 cups. I started out with chopped almonds and ended up using VERY, VERY finely chopped almonds! Just chopped them even smaller in my food precessor so they really coated and stuck to the cookies. Will make again for sure! Thanks! ***re-reviewed 1.22.09 - I made these again this past Christmas and added in Raw Sugar (the large brown crystals) with the ground almonds. It was fantastic. It did make them a bit sweeter and crunchy. I like them both ways.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Alice Mayo Edelhauser
I LOVED THESE !! They are good alone or with coffee. I have made them putting the nuts in the dough and rolling them in course sugar. delicious
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 May 2002
Reviewed by: KBOLES
My daughter made this recipe for her geography class to go with her report on Finland. She didn't like the dipping in egg part, but liked the finished product. I thought they were pretty tasty myself.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Cassandra
i'm a finnish girl, these are a traditional cookie we have always enjoyed. for anyone having trouble with the messy egg bath, here's a trick. put a colander in a larger bowl. put the cookies in the colander, and pour the egg over the cookies. tah-dah, no egg mess!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Annalynn
Follow the original recipe. I read some of the reviews and omitted the egg paste before the almond/sugar roll because of the mess. You really had to grind the almonds very fine for it to stick well. I had leftover almonds, so I made the recipe again but did the egg paste. It really was not that messy! And the cookies looked exactly like the picture because the paste was able to grab on to the bigger pieces of almonds and to the festive Christmas sugar crystals. In the end, the cookies did taste the same but the 2nd batch had more of a crunch...yummmmm.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: mguy0808
Great flavor. Ground whole almonds in food processor. Ran out of almond extract-added some ground almonds into batter. I also combined the sugar and almonds to eliminate one step. I cooked on greased cookie sheet not ungreased. Came out great. Rolled some into balls instead of sticks-still came out good. Will definitely make next year for Christmas.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Mama Ali
I rate this a 4 only because of the messy factor. I actually made 3 cookies as suggested, then mixed in my almonds in the dough. They took 12 minutes to cook and are delicious. They don't look as festive as the picture though, so I'm making a thin glaze frosting to put on top.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: The Lone Baker
I made these for Christmas. Nice dough- easy to work with. The only complaint was the egg bath was really messy between the sugar and then the almond so use latex gloves and keep plenty of Bounty on hand. Taste was nice- very nice, but wondered if it was worth the effort.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: SPOTTY01S
This recipe was really good and all the kids i baby-sit enjoyed them so much. they couldn't get enough!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes