My Reviews (1,751)

Chicken and Lime Tortilla Wraps

Tortilla wraps are a great lunch but are also popular as a quick and easy dinner as everyone can help themselves.
Reviews (1751)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
PNORDWIG said:
Altered ingredient amounts. On this one, I tripled the sauce and marinated the chicken in 2/3s of it. Omitted the oregano, and added coriander (a key ingredient!) at the end of sauteeing the chicken. When I sauteed the chicken (strips not cubed), I dumped the marinade and added the last 1/3 of fresh marinade to the chicken as it was nearly done cooking through, which only took a few minutes, not the 20 mins the recipe calls for! I also added a splash of tequila to the chicken while cooking, per other reviewers; was a nice touch! Used white corn tortillas (personal fave), and served with grated colby/jack cheese, chopped tomatoes, & the guacamole on allrecipes.com by Bob Cody, increasing his call for cayenne pepper by at least double. That gave this dish a bite that I think it needed. Would have been too bland for us, otherwise, but it was a nice meal, complete with margaritas!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Donnadeety said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I love this. I brown the chicken and then dice it and return it to the frypan to finish with the sauce. I don't use oregano. I have used coriander and a splash of tequila. I use these in tacos with avocado and sour cream. I love these as nachos on the tequila lime tortilla chips. I have even frozen the cooked chicken mixture and it came out beautifully. Everytime I make these I tell my husband how much I love them.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: ALYSSIA
Yummy Yum Yum!!!! This was so good and EASY to make!!! I mixed all of the seasoning ingredients in a small bowl while the chicken was sauteing and just dumped it in the frypan and stirred the last 10 minutes of cooking. I used a teaspoon of oil while sauteing the chicken so it wouldn't stick to the frypan and it didn't affect the flavour in anyway. DH and I loved this and so did our 1 yr old! I'm sure my 8 year old would love it too but he was having dinner with his grandparents....too bad he missed out!!!! I used 3 Tbsp of lime juice (bottled kind) and it was delicious!!! I'd recommend this recipe to anyone who wants a nice change from regular tacos! I think I'm going to try these with quesadillas sometimes too! Thanks so Marissa! These were DELICIOUS!!!!!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Used different ingredients. Delicious but be forewarned that it does have a kick to it! A splash of Tequila to the sauce while cooking adds a wonderful flavour.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: The Grumpy Chef
I really like the flavour the recipe give. I usually throw it all in the crock pot and let it go. I then take out the chicken and shred it. It is so yummy and reminds me of a great resturant in Arizona.
 
04 May 2004
Reviewed by: Kirbyx5
I really like the flavor the recipe give. I usually throw it all in the crock pot and let it go. I then take out the chicken and shred it. It is so yummy and reminds me of a great resturant in Arizona.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: LADYJAYPEE
On this one, I tripled the sauce and marinated the chicken in 2/3s of it. Omitted the oregano, and added cilantro (a key ingredient!) at the end of sauteeing the chicken. When I sauteed the chicken (strips not cubed), I dumped the marinade and added the last 1/3 of fresh marinade to the chicken as it was nearly done cooking through, which only took a few minutes, not the 20 mins the recipe calls for! I also added a splash of tequila to the chicken while cooking, per other reviewers; was a nice touch! Used white corn tortillas (personal fave), and served with grated colby/jack cheese, chopped tomatoes, & the guacamole on allrecipes.com by Bob Cody, increasing his call for cayenne pepper by at least double. That gave this dish a bite that I think it needed. Would have been too bland for us, otherwise, but it was a nice meal, complete with margaritas!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Crystal S
Based on the numerous reviews I was anxious to try this recipe. It was okay. Very similar to a marinade I use for fajaita chicken tacos which my family liked much better. Sorry.....
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: MomSavedbyGrace
We thought these were awesome! A refreshing change from regular tacos. Things I did differently - used cilantro instead of oregano, 1 regular onion instead of 2 green, and used the juice of a whole lime instead of 1/2. I cut the chicken in strips instead of cubing it. Used Sargento's 4 Cheese Mexican blend for the cheese. I think you should definitely use fresh lime as opposed to the bottle stuff, if you really want the lime flavor to stand out. (And its not overpowering). Also, this recipe states that it serves 10, that would be 1 taco per person, and who can eat just 1? I think this recipe serves more like 4-5. I love this recipe, it is definitely a unique and cheap dish to make for a large group!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: kristen m
At first I thought the red wine vinegar was strange, but it did add a good flavor. Overall the tacos were really good, but in the future I will omit the oregano- it added an Italian flavor, as some had mentioned. I doctored this up a bunch and added cilantro, extra lime, and served with some sliced peppers and onions which I stir-fried in olive oil and cumin (didn't have lettuce). I think cumin or cilantro are definitely more appropriate seasonings rather than the oregano. We served these with salsa. We'll make these again. **also- I found that after cutting the recipe in half (to serve 5) my husband and I only had a small dinner. I think the full recipe would probably only be enough for 4 people (not 10).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes