My Reviews (93)

Orange and Egg Sponge Cake

This sponge cake is delightfully moist and so full of flavour it really doesn't need any icing. The perfect thing to serve with tea or coffee for guests.
Reviews (93)


08 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: Lila D
This cake was a huge hit. It was gone in a flash. I topped it off with a glaze made with fresh squeezed orange juice, powdered sugar and butter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Apr 2001
Reviewed by: PERIN
Moist and great on its own. It really requires no frosting. Also, it's a good way to use up egg-yolks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: EmpressChristine
Very nice recipe. Easy to make and turned out great, the citrus flavours are easily substituted to adapt it to your taste. I've made a pina colada flavour (substituting coconut, rum and pineapple flavours) and a mocha flavour (substituting chocolate and coffee flavours) and they both tasted great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Rowst
Baked this cake yesterday, didn't think it would be very nice, especially being made with so much water, but it was lovely. Very light, a bit like the trifle sponges that you can buy in the shops. I used almond extract instead of orange juice, and also omitted the orange zest. In case you're interested, it took 9 egg yolks to make up the 180ml of yolks, so also had to make an angel cake to use up the egg whites!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
13 May 2008
Reviewed by: cajoeen
Very tasty!! I wouldn't call it moist, but it certainly is good. I have left over yolk from making angel food and this is the perfect way to use it, it even tasted better than the angel food, haha.. FYI, I use 11yolks, may varied depend on the size of your eggs, but i think you'll need around 10-12.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 May 2006
Reviewed by: clara
Delicious!!! Very good. I didn't add the orange flavorings though, and it still came out excellent. Make sure to whip the egg-yolks and sugar until the mixture is very light and rises, or the result will be not as well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Wynema
When I was a kid sponge cake was my favorite. My mom always made one when she made the angel food cake using only yolks. I have looked for this recipe since forever and am so glad I found it. For the one lady in England that does not have a tube pan, if you need one, take a large pan, place a heat proof glass in the center and viola, a tube pan. For those who do not like the texture of the cake, remember it is called a "sponge" cake. I am making one today using only lemon juice and rind. Yum! Thanks so much for this recipe. From the other reviews I am sure I will give this recipe a five star rating. To avoid having problems getting the cake out of the pan, line the bottom of pan with ungreased parchment paper. The paper will slide out with the cake and can then be peeled off easily. Just tear off a piece of parchment paper the width of the bottom of the pan, take a pencil or pen and draw around the bottom of the pan onto the paper, then cut the paper a little smaller than you have drawn and it should fit nicely into the tube pan.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 May 2011
Reviewed by: Anita BS
I made quite a few changes to this recipe, based on the reviews here+ a sponge cake recipe in a baking book (that explains their rigorous testing methods) + my own tastes - but I kept the egg ingredients the same since I wanted to use up a whole lot of yolks! Sorry I'm not posting it as a custom version but I don't want to buy that membership! My cake turned out very well (I'd rate 5*) & got many positive comments from the eaters. Texture was just right - a bit spongy, yet light enough - not too dense. Flavor nice. I think the egg whipping is important, see below. Here goes: Total of 1 2/3 c flour, but make it up of about 2 parts cake flour and one part all-purpose flour. Same baking powder and salt as recipe, same sifting together instructions. Same quantity of eggs, but: Separate the whole egg, add its yolk to the others. Whip up the egg white to soft peaks, set aside. Now, spend a LOT of time whipping the yolks, like 10 minutes, til they're REALLY lovely, light, and pale colored. Fold in the whipped egg white. Same amount of sugar. Recipe makes it sound like you have to beat yolks and sugar together for 10 minutes - not sure about that need! Same amount of zest, orange juice. Gentle but thorough folding is probably important. I substituted orange extract for the lemon extract. I added 2 T Grand Marnier (orange liqueur) and removed 2T from the water quantity. I used room temperature water, not boiling water. Tube pan. Check for done-ness at 45 mins. Good luck - Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: NADAS6
I baked this in a 9 by 13 inch pan, and the texture of the resulting cake was incredible. I didn't even add any orange flavoring. An excellent way to use up extra egg yolks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: menocook
This sponge cake was simply fantastic - simple to make and absolutely delicious. The orange taste gave it a kick without being overwhelming, and you needn't add anything else if you do not want as it is still great. It is also moist and bouncy for days afterwards as well. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes