My Reviews (12)

Christmas Eggnog Fruit Cake

If you can find bottled eggnog try making this sumptuous cake for Christmas or Christmas in July. It's full of blueberries, cherries and cranberries and is very moist.
Reviews (12)


11 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: DOCTOR KITTEN
This is destined to become a family holiday favorite. So good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: SPEARL20
Moist, tall cake. I didn't have any dried fruit, so instead I used 6oz. fresh blueberries and 6oz. cooked fresh cranberries. Also didn't have brandy, so I used rum instead. For the glaze, I mixed together cranberry juice, rum and powdered sugar. The eggnog flavor really came through and I think this is one of the best pound cakes my husband and I has ever eaten! We aren't sharing it with anyone!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: alistar1977
An instant holiday favorite! I can see myself making this every year! I was going to take this to work, but my husband wouldn't let me. Thanks a bunch!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: NELLY2
I made this recipe last year for friends and family, it was a hit! They asked me to do it again this year. I made individual loafs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: iluvpastry
Very delicious! Can't taste the eggnog; I didn't have cranberries so I did what another reviewer did, I substituted fresh blueberries and cherries in proportions to equal 3/4 cup and soaked these in the sherry I had instead of brandy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: CHARLOTTE
This cake was a big hit at Thanksgiving dinner. I only used dried cranberries and cherries because that is what I had on had. I didn't use the brandy called for either. I used two tablespoons water and a 1/8 teaspoon rum extract. In the glaze instead of water I used two tablespoons of eggnog and brandy extract. I will make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: Laura Yessenia Kissel
really taste , i used 1 cup of cranberries only for fruitsand i added 1 tbs ginger.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2019
Reviewed by: LeaDiBa
This recipe makes a gorgeous batter and a beautifully moist delicious cake! I omitted the brandied fruit (per my 7 yo 's request) and it still came out wonderful. I did substitute Disaronno for the glaze (personal preference) and it made for a sweet, crunchy crust. Cannot wait to devour and make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2015
Reviewed by: Menno de Koning
Awesome recipe! Great taste. Replaced the brandy with spiced brown rum. Added some almonds in the batter. And I heated up the sugar, water and rum glaze so that the sugar dissolved. So making this again for Christmas!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Dec 2015
Reviewed by: Kitchen sweets
This is a wonderful cake for the Holiday. I didn't have any fruit..but I used sliced maracino cherries soaked in rum. i also topped it with toasted slivered almonds. my whole family loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes