My Reviews (226)

Easiest Sour Cream Cheesecake

The easiest cheesecake in the world to make, even easier using a prepared pie crust! It's fine plain but also good topped with stewed fruit.
Reviews (226)


29 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Reta
I made this for my family. I put graham cracker crust instead. It was super easy. Just a hint for warming up the cream cheese to make it soft to work with .Take the cream cheese out of the boxes leave the foil on and put in hot water for about 10 minutes. Make sure the foil is sealed. It warms it up then you don't have to wait to get to room temperature it is done in a matter of minutes. I do the same with eggs as well. I leave the eggs in the shell in warm water for about 10 minutes and it does the job. I will keep this recipe for sure.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: CDPEFFER
Pretty good cheesecake recipe. My usual recipe uses more cream cheese so I used this one. I used a graham crust in a springform pan. I always bake my cheesecakes for like 15 minutes at 450 then reduce the oven temp to 250-275 and bake for like another 45min. Then I turn the oven off and let it cool in there for an hour or so. Then place in frige overnight. This way there is no crack and it will be perfectly creamy, no water bath needed!! If I make this again I'd probably add a tablespoon of lemon juice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Valerie Allen
I've tried this now 2 times. Both times I did not use the crust. I used the SplendaBlend (half sugar-half Splenda) and low fat sour cream and low fat cream cheese. I bake it in a 9" nonstick round metal cake pan that I liberally spray with Butter Flavored Pam. First time it cracked, second time it didn't. I don't mind the cracking though because I like the rustic look. (Doesn't look machine made to me) I baked at 325 for 70 minutes. It come out to about 135 calories per serving if the cake is cut in 12's. So Rich that is all I need! I'm thinking about serving it with berries today for color. I really enjoy this recipe. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Timpop
DO NOT ADD LEMON JUICE! It will destroy your cheesecake. The thirteen people who rated the review that suggested that as helpful obviously did not follow the suggestion of adding lemon juice. It will react badly with the sour cream and the end result will be a mushy, dense, flat, and acidic desert that is not entirely unlike cheesecake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 May 2007
Reviewed by: CPolencheck
This is the BEST cheesecake I've ever had. And it is especially awesome since I made it with all fat-free dairy, 2 egg whites, and Splenda! Awesome! I made this into 4 "mini" cheesecakes without crusts, so it only cooked for about 50 minutes. I keep different fruits cut up in the fridge for a different topping every day. Thank you for my new fave!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: CoconutGirl
I was very determined to find a cheesecake recipe that had only 1 cup of sour cream since that was all I had on hand. I was a little skeptical about this but gave it a go anyway. Oh.my.goodness.!! It was velvety smooth, creamy with the perfect amount of sweetness and a hint of vanilla. The shortbread cookie crust is a great idea, it set the cake off nicely. For those of you who are having problems with cracking, bring your cream cheese, eggs and sour cream to room temp. The cream cheese must be perfectly soft; if you're pressed for time soak the packages in warm water and squish flat until warmed through. Mix the batter as little as possible-just until everything is blended. I've made this twice now and it's perfect. Quick, easy and simply delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: KELLYRNH
I made this for easter, it went over very well! I made my own crust with graham cracker crumbs (I didn't have a shortbread crust on hand, I'm sure that would be even better) and used low fat cream cheese (that neufetchetel sp stuff) and low fat sour cream, and it was still great! I decorated the top with strawberries and blueberries and my dessert was first to fly off the table (even before the double chocolate oreo cookie pie!) Nice and light after a big meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: Artyjan
Wonderful - better than a restuarant! I made it for a special occation and it was perfect. Although I did make it with a biscuit base, the cheesecake was rich but not too sweet. I cooked it in a waterbath for the time stated and it didn't crack or burn. Recommended with pleasure - Heaven!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: CHARLESBABBITT
Very easy to make, but does tend to crack, so if you are serving it for a dinner party, use a topping.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: JONIB5757
This was the first time I ever made cheesecake. This recipe was easy and delicious! I made it a second time using a graham cracker crust, it was also a big hit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes