My Reviews (46)

Easy Coconut Layer Bars

These bars are super delicious and super easy to make. You just layer the biscuit crumbs, chocolate, coconut and walnuts and go!
Reviews (46)


19 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Amy Austin
They're just too good, and SO easy! The best way to spread the sweetened condensed milk is to cut a one-inch slit in the can with a can opener at "12 o'clock" and a two-inch one at "6 o'clock" and drizzle it on slowly. If you open the can, you're going to get a big clump in the middle of your cookies.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: barbarajean
I sampled something similar years ago, with a friend who said the secret on these was "not to over-do the choco chips"! So, I use only 6 oz of choco chips and a full cup of butterscotch chips - this amount is perfect! Replace the walnuts with those skin-on sliced almonds and don't pack your coconut. A thicker graham crust balances the sweetness perfectly. I like to add the melted butter to a bowl first to mix up and then spread on bottom of the pan. Cook on bottom rack - edges will look overdone but those are nice to trim off and sample! Kids love them frozen!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Aug 2001
Reviewed by: DMORANUSA
These bars were so-o-o easy to make!! The cleanup was quick too as you only use one pan. And they were delicious! I had some chocolate chips left over so I sprinkled them on top. Just a note: when you take it out of the oven, the center will be very gooey. The bars will harden once they're fully cooled.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: Joelen
This was an okay recipe - I didn't follow exactly because the amount graham cracker crumbs it calls for really isn't enough. In addition, the amount of chocolate chips, butterscotch chips, coconut and walnuts seem too much as well - which would explain those reviews where folks ended up with a sticky, hard mess. My suggestion....use your own senses and judgement. Put as much or as little of the topping goodies you'd like - just make sure that your base crust will be as firm, thick and stable enough to hold it all. Don't forget that the topping is mostly sugar and the condensed milk is sweet enough. You don't want to end up with something too sweet and have it go to waste! Overall - this was an acceptable recipe to use as a GUIDE.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: MommyFromSeattle
Really good and super easy. I made sure to mix the butter and graham cracker crumbs completely and then evenly spreading it out again. You get a nice, even crust this way. Crust can be doubled if you want a thicker crust. 1 cup each of chocolate and butterscotch chip was plenty sweet, any more would have been too sweet. Mine was done in 25 min, with the coconut nice n' browned. Will make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: iloveonions
These were pretty good. My only suggestion would be to not reduce the amount of chips too much (as some of the reviews have suggested). I followed reviewers' suggestions and used about 3/4 cup of each type of chip, which ended up creating a less-sweet bar. A little more sweetness was needed, which could be accomplished with more chips - especially of the butterscotch variety.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: VIOLET2004
This recipe is similar to the recipe I usually use to make what I call "Decadent Indulgence" bars, only I use 1 cup of each type of 'chip', and I finely crush my crumbs into almost a powder; It helps it stick together better. Also, when you cut these into squares, make sure you cut them into small squares (1"x1" is plenty). Anything more than that is too much and will leave you feeling sick. I get requests for these ALL THE TIME!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Elisha
Huge hit. I used semi-sweet, butterscotch and white choc. chips. Sprinkled the few extra chips on top.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: LLUTZ
this was a simple solution to a sweet tooth that wouldn't be satisfied. Not only did it provide the perfect sweet, I used fat free sweetened condensed milk and low fat grahams, and light butter to cut back on alot of fat and calories and believe me the flavor was awesome!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: JULES72873
These were absolutely delicious, and a big hit at my Christmas party. I did have to cook it for about 45 minutes, but that might have been due to increasing the number of bars. Can't wait to make these again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes