My Reviews (273)

Beef and Bean Chilli

This is a lovely and simple homemade chilli con carne recipe. You can adjust the amount of chilli powder to your own particular taste. Serve with bread.
Reviews (273)


14 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Christina
This is the quickest thing I have made for dinner in a long time. However, I like my chili on the thicker side, and this chili was a little too watery. To solve this problem, I added half a can of tomato paste, and this made it perfect. I also added just a little extra chili powder because I wanted it to be a little spicier. Because I didn't have stewed tomatoes, I used canned diced tomatoes instead. They were just as good and gave the chili a nice flavor. I have already made this for dinner twice, and I plan on making it a staple in my recipe collection. It's great served with a portion of baguette.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Ilovemyfamily
Wow!!! This chili was GREAT. This was my first time EVER to make chili. I added a chopped green pepper and 2 cloves of garlic minced in the pan with the hamburger and onions.. I also used 1 tablespoon of chili powder.. This truly was better than any chili my family has ever had from any restaurant or family member.. Thank you so much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: HEYBRO31
It has snowed 5 feet here in Denver and I really wanted chili tonight. I can't believe how easy this was!!! It was sooooooooooooo good. I can't believe it. I tastes like I worked all day on it. I did make a few changes, I only put 1c. of water, and put about 1TB of chili powder. When I browned the meat I put 2 cloves of garlic in with onion. This was the tastiest dinner I've had! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Tina M
It was good, although I had to make too many changes to the recipe to rate it any higher. I used alot more garlic and chili powder(1-2 tbsp) and I omitted the water completely(I like it thick and it was just too soup-like with the water in it). As the recipe is now it was very bland tasting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I decided to make chili dogs at the last minute for National Hot Dog Day, I needed something fast. This fit the bill perfectly. I increased the chili powder and garlic powder and added a few more spices (cumin, mexican oregano, crushed red pepper, onion powder, little brown sugar, little Worchestershire sauce) for flavor. This worked out great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: Butterfly Flutterby
This is an easy and simple chili recipe. I used petite diced tomatoes. I usually throw in garlic and green pepper. I use a TON more chili powder than called for here. We like it spicy! We serve this with shredded cheese and sour cream. The kids like to have this over fritos. Every once in a while I will serve this as a taco salad with corn chips and all the fixins.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Feb 2001
Reviewed by: 2NICOLE
This was so easy to make, and tastes great!! My husband and I both loved it! I only had marinara sauce on hand so I used that in place of the tomato sauce. AND I had to cook the chili a lot longer than 15 minutes to get it thick enough. I'll definitely be making this one again, but I think I'll add less water next time around...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: midwestchef
I don't see how anyone can rate a recipe 4-5 stars when they have to practically redo it. I added this, I left out that...put in more seasoning, leave out the water...either a recipe works or it doesn't AS IS. This is a basic starter recipe for new cooks or families w/ young children. It doesn't qualify as 4-5 stars in my book.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Aug 2000
Reviewed by: MIHAELA
Easy to make and tasty. I added some hot chili powder and barley. Came out very good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: TMO
It is really simple and tastes great. I agree it's a great basic recipe and you can at to it. No water and used petite diced tomatoes. I added more chili powder and red pepper flakes to spice it up. The second time I made it I browned the meat and onion then put that and the rest of the ingredients in a crockpot to simmer. Works well. Next time I'd like to add bell peppers.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes