My Reviews (39)

Eye Fillet Steaks with Marsala Sauce

A good steak recipe is simple and delicious. This recipe uses Marsala wine and balsamic vinegar to create a beautiful sauce for eye fillet.
Reviews (39)


25 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Matt Grifo
I used NY strips cause that is what I had still turned out great the sauce was a little on the balsamic side, I would suggest cutting back a little.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Janelle L. Gagnon
I reduced the balsamic as suggested to 1/8 cup, used shallots in place of onions and I added 3 tablespoons of beef broth to the mushrooms and white wine. Otherwise, I followed the recipe...it was fabulous. It had a nice sweet tangy flavor that went well with the filet mignon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Sep 2007
Basically a very good recipe but I think it called for too much balsamic vinegar. I would cut this down to 1/8 cup. I added about 1/4 cup of chopped onions and browned them in the butter. Then I added the mushrooms followed by the wine with 1 teaspoon of Maggi Sauce. As directed I added the balsamic vinegar and reduced the liquid. I added just a bit more wine with some salt and pepper to taste and then a little cornstarch with water to thicken the sauce. My husband loved it and with less vinegar I think this will be a winner!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 May 2007
Reviewed by: Trudy
Excellent recipe - the mushroom Marsala sauce was so delicious with the steak. I did have to add more liquid as the mushrooms soaked up the sauce. Everyone at my dinner party loved it. Will absolutely make it again & again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: magiemay36
This is a great recipe, I have been making it for years. But you only need about 2-tablespoons of balsamic vinegar and the Marsala Wine needs to be about a 1 1/2 cups and 1/2 cup of beef broth and the mushrooms most definitely needs to be Portabella to make this taste like a real marsala sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: broloff
This is a spectacular recipe. Not only is it really easy to make, it is delicious! I would recommend adding a little brown sugar to the sauce, bon appetite!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Smittenk
Really good! I did cut back on the balsamic vinegar per the other reviews. I would definitely make again
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Rubber Ducky
This was very good!! Even my 2 1/2 year old liked it! I did follow the advise about reducing on the vinegar and it was great! Thanks!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: BretABaker
I think there should be a bit less balsamic - the taste of cooked balsamic overpowers the wine and mushrooms. Still - it was a great meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: agisinge
This really was the easiest filet marsala!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes