My Reviews (18)

Greek Beef Stew

This is a Greek beef stew called stefado. Serve it with a large bowl of mashed potatoes. Of course a Greek salad, some feta and olives and crusty bread would give this meal the final touches.
Reviews (18)


01 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Weasel
Good recipe! If you don't have pickling spice, you can make it yourself. The main ingredients are: cinnamon, mustard seed, bay leaves, allspice, dill seed, cloves, ginger, peppercorns, coriander, juniper berries, mace, and cardamom. So put a bit of all this, and you've got it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: BEZEMES
This is a GREAT recipe!!! I am Greek and this is just like my mom used to make. Don't be afraid of the work, your family will love this!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: BUSYGREEKMOM
I made this recently and can't believe how good this was. I always stayed away from this recipe even though it was one of my favorite greek meals. I thought it would be too much work, but boy was it worth it. Kathy is right, the smell of this simmering is so inviting! My family enjoyed this a lot and all you have to do is add a salad and some mashed potatoes! No more ordering this out at Greek restaurants. Now I can have even better at home!! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: starrmc
Great recipe from Dorothy! She's got more than 200 others - Greek & American - in her book, From Our Hearts to Your Table - Recipes from a Greek American Family.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Yanni's
Kathy, Thank you for posting your mom's Stefado, I think it is wonderful. I made a batch with half the amount of meat and onions, but left the rest of the ingrediants as written. It was fabulous with the fresh french bread for soaking the sauce. I have made this stew for years with all kinds of meat such as lamb, venison, rabbit, chicken and of course beef. From a 65 year old greek man that cooks better than most...Bravo!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Melissa Scholte
The smell while cooking was devine !! I also cut down the meat (almost half), but used about double wine/water mix... even though I was cooking it on very low heat ?! To cut the acidity of the tomato paste and wine I added about 2 tsp of sugar. Will definately be making this more often. Note: If you don't have whole pickling spice use: 1ts whole cloves, more bayleaves (2), whole peper corns. It's not the same, but will add a bit more flavour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: KEZ
Our favourite Greek restaurant is closed for refurbishment at the moment. So I wanted to try and recreate my husbands favourite dish for his birthday. I managed it with this recipe. I scaled down the meat and onions for 6 people but kept the sauce the same. I'm glad I did as I still had to add a little more wine mixed with water even though I was simmering on very low.Thankyou to my Quality Cook friend CC who explained to me what a spice bag was and thankyou Kathy W for a recipe that my husband really enjoyed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: diamond_ele
This sounds like a great recipe, but i live in Australia and would like to know what are whole pickling spices, never heard of them here, maybe the greek version of them will help me understand. Thanks Ele
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: MALLORY3032ISH
I thought this was very savory and yummy. My hubby isn't a fan of cinnamon...so I may leave that out of it next time. I just used a coffee filter and some string for a spice pouch and it worked wonderful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: pie
this is the identical recipe i've been using since getting back from greece a year ago - fantastic flavour, and the aroma is beautiful. The shallots can be a pain, but thats the only tedious part. Hard to mess up, easy to love
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes