My Reviews (49)

Dill Gherkin Bread

Here's an unusual herb bread - as well as dried dill, it uses an actual pickled cucumber (gherkin). If you want an extra strong taste, substitute 1/2 cup of the pickle juice for 1/2 cup water.
Reviews (49)


20 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: CELTIC3CLAN
This is a fantastic bread for pickle lovers. The second time I made it, I added a bit more diced pickle and upped the pickle juice-to-water ratio to 3:1, then reduced the salt by 1/4 tsp. This is the perfect bread for roast beef, tuna salad, chicken salad, and innumerable other sandwiches.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: ROBINHOOD77
My wife loved this bread. Great bread for sandwiches. I chose to set my crust to a darker setting for a richer crust. For the kids I chose to use onion powder instead of chopped onions. Both came out great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 May 2000
Reviewed by: Rosemary
Check bread during kneading cycle, I had to add more flour. Makes the best sandwiches, ever. It has been 5 years now that I have made this. So this is an add on. Make sure the juice and the pickles are at room temp. I add extra dill weed. Yes, for 5 years I have been making this bread, and love it. I use the dough cycle only. Thank you Tony
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Sep 2000
Reviewed by: Nan
This bread didn't rise for me, and the bread ended up being heavy. I had added sugar to help the yeast along, but this didn't seem to work. I thought maybe it would be better to add chopped pickles and dill pickle juice to my regular white bread recipe for bread machines.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 May 2001
Reviewed by: JOAN B.
This is the BEST bread I have ever made in a machine and I've worn out 3 machines! Very light and tasty. I grated my pickle [Clausen's Kosher Dills] and used distilled water.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jun 2000
Reviewed by: HEATHERCHERYL
This recipe seemed to be an excellent idea, but it didn't turn out for me. The bread didn't rise at all...not even a little bit and I followed the recipe exactly. My yeast was good, I have used it sucessfully recently on other recipes. I did wonder why there was no sugar in the recipe...I thought yeast needs sugar to act. Also, I am told salt keeps the yeast in check so the extra salt in the pickle juice may have done something also. This recipe smelled wonderful as it baked, I was sorry it didn't turn out. I threw the bread away. Anyone have any suggestions to save this recipe? Had it risen, it would have been wonderful. Thanks! Heather
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jul 2001
Reviewed by: LAURADJ
The pickle taste wasn't as distinctive as I had hoped - I even used pickle juice for the water.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: SUSANBRUCE
Good recipe, but needed adjustments-added sugar and some gluten flour (for the 1/8 c flour) for a really good bread. Also try adding 1/2 finely chopped onion
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Apr 2000
Reviewed by: MELNPJ
Great sandwich bread... excellent for a cold ham sandwich or a grilled cheese!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 May 2000
Reviewed by: ABRIBE
I added an extra pickle since I love pickles. Great bread recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes