My Reviews (72)

Spicy Slow Cooker Beef Stew

Slow cookers make stews very easy. Just remember that every time you lift the lid of the slow cooker you increase the cooking time by 20 minutes!
Reviews (72)


11 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: pgrambs
Good basic recipe, but like other reviewers, I had to modify it. Doubled the amount of beef (came out just right for family of four), which also meant inreasing the boullion and red wine (which I added proportionately more of to give it a richer flavor), and added a bit more worcestershire sauce)and some minced garlic. Also, for my slow cooker, this dish was done in less than 6 hours.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2019
Reviewed by: Suzanne Marie
I made this as written. So good! I will be making again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 May 2018
Reviewed by: Ellen Sasso Finn
absolutely delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Oct 2017
Reviewed by: lanax
Unfortunately this recipe did not turn out as intended. The sauce was bland and watery. Too much wine and not enough beef stock/salt. I don't know why it says it has a lot of onion. The onion was a pretty ordinary amount.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jul 2017
Reviewed by: Marisa Rietti
My husband loves his mom's beef stew, but when she shared her tips, she forgot to mention a special ingredient... Coca cola! So I reduce the water in this recipe and add coca cola at the end and mix everything well in the slow cooker! Yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 May 2017
Reviewed by: Joanne
I've tried many slow cooker beef stew recipes. Pick this one.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Mar 2017
Reviewed by: Chelsey Carr
This was delicious! I added an extra potato, 1 whole bag of baby carrots (12oz), I doubled the rosemary because I was out of thyme, and then added some gravy mix at the end (I always do this with stew). It was super-delicious! Will definitely make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Feb 2017
Reviewed by: Sherry
I normally do not ever add salt to a recipe but found this stew needed it. I also thought the overall flavor was bland.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Oct 2016
Reviewed by: MISSROBIN28
A very tasty beef stew. I made a couple of minor substitutions: minced garlic for the garlic powder, and a can of beef broth in place of the bouillon/water. I did thicken the broth some. I served it with cornbread, and it made for a yummy comfort-food dinner!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2016
Reviewed by: AyleahH
I have made this stew a few times, and have always loved it! I have made a couple of changes, I used 2 cloves of garlic instead of garlic powder. I cook one clove when I caramelize the onion and throw the other right into the crock pot. I also use 2 bullion cubes and don't cook with the wine. Its always a hit with my boyfriend!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes