My Reviews (79)

Kids Rainbow Jelly

This is great for a kid's birthday party because it has multiple layers of jelly, each with a different flavour and colour. You can make it in a big pan or a glass bowl or in individual bowls. Kids love to help!
Reviews (79)


08 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: pigmango
Dead easy and looks fantastic. And so cheap! The only hard part was finding enough bowls. This was a big crowd pleaser after a hot barbeque.
 
22 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Cici_84
Hi there. I did mine in single serve glass bowls and topped with berries, fruit & cream for dessert with the rellies one night. Everyone loved them!!! They looked so pretty!!!
 
10 Apr 2014
Reviewed by: shankars123
Dead easy and looks fantastic. And so cheap! The only hard part was finding enough bowls. This was a big crowd pleaser after a hot barbecue.
 
30 Jul 2000
Reviewed by: GLOW-BUG
This is a fun salad to make and serve. I would suggest not fixing all of the jellos at the same time as they tend to "set up" slightly as they wait their turn to be added to the cooled mold. I "frost" my "jello cake" by thickening over heat 1 1/2 c. pineapple juice, 3 T. flour, 3/4 c. granulated sugar, & 3 T. butter. When this has cooled, whip 1 pint of whipping cream and fold into pineapple mixture. Spread over "jello cake". Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: JRO26
This is such a great idea and a hit at a dinner party. I mixed the jello with 1 cup of boiling water and then 1 cup of cold water so that it was at room temp. right away. I also only did two boxes at a time so that they wouldn't set up before they got into the dish! Thank you for the great idea!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: mommymeggy
HINTS: I found it easiest to mix 1 pkg of gelatin w/ water at a time; aside from preventing the mix from setting as other reviews mentioned, this way you only dirty 1 bowl. It takes about 40 MINUTES for each layer to completely set, so there's plenty of time for the next mix to cool down but no need to get all the flavors ready at once. Make sure a layer has completely set before adding another; even if it seems pretty solid the force of pouring another layer on top can disrupt the previous layer. So also, pour gently, just in case. I made a "frosting" consisting of 2 c whipping cream, 2 t lemon rind & 1/4 c pineapple juice... turned out great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: GINAH1
This was fabulous! Takes a bit of work, especially waiting for the layers to set, but it was worth it and it looked beautiful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: JNETSFOOD
This is a great recipie. Everytime I make it everyone loves it. Has a great taste, the evaporated milk makes it really good for adults too. It does take a little time, but worth it. I also would suggest making 2 at a time to avoid setting up to soon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: Suz
This is a fantastic and fun dessert but the directions are terrible! You have to mix the Jello step by step and wait. First of all make sure you have a level shelf with enough space for your container in the fridge. Second, mix your first package of Jell-o with 1 1/2 c boiling water. Pour this in your container and put in the fridge. Set the timer for about 45 minutes and in about 15 minutes prepare the second layer: mix the 2nd box of Jell-o with 1 cup boiling water and 1/2 cup of sweetened condensed milk. When the layer in the fridge is set, gently pour the room temp/not boiling Jell-o/milk mixture on top. Third: Set the timer for 30 minutes, mix another package of Jell-o with 1 1/2 cups boiling water. When timer goes off, gently pour room temp mix onto layer. Fourth, Set the timer for 30 minutes and prepare a Jell-o/ milk layer. Keep going from step three until finished. You have to wait longer for the first layer, because you put it in the fridge boiling whereas the subsequent layers are not so so hot. You guessed it this takes a long time, so make it when you need to clean the house or something.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: REDWIN
Very pretty, i used it as a jello mold, and topped it with whipped cream and jelly beans for easter. SUCCESS!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes