My Reviews (29)

Date Cake

This date cake is a little different from your usual because it has a topping which is cooked under the grill. Serve warm but not too hot!
Reviews (29)


23 Feb 2001
Reviewed by: JOANNE STRILCHUK
Very moist,good flavor. Wonderful topping. Good old fashioned cake like my mother used to make.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: n2nicole
This is OUTSTANDING. Fun to make with kids, too! I made the recipe as directed except that I didn't have cream on hand, so our topping was made with milk instead. It was delicious! The topping was starting to burn under my broiler after 1 1/2 minutes so watch it carefully. Did I mention how good this is?? It would be great with some spiced whipped cream!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Eva Amber
Ok, I made quite a few adjustments (sorry!!!), but it was a delicious cake, and I am sure it would be amazing as written as well. I used 2 cups chopped dates and a half cup raisins. I boiled the fruit in 3/4 cup water and 3/4 cup orange juice with some cinnamon. When I added the baking soda it had a mini lava effect like a science fair project (I didn't think about the acid from the orange juice and baking soda, oops), but not enough to be a mess, and it didn't ruin the flavor. I used almond extract instead of vanilla, and I also added nuts to the cake. I messed up the topping the first time I made it (adding the cream to the hot butter wasn't pretty) so I just did a topping of butter, brown sugar, and cinnamon. Anyway, my whole family loved this recipe. They said they would buy it in a coffee shop. I didn't think it was that pretty, so if I made it for company I would increase the recipe and make it in a bundt pan, or slice it like a loaf cake and serve with sauce and whipped cream.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Laurel11
My original username was LAUREL1 and this is my recipe that I posted in 2001. The orginal recipe comes from the Ukrainian Church Ladies of Holden, Alberta, Canada cookbook of my mother's when I was a little girl. It was and still is my favourite coffee cake. The original recipe calls for 1/2 cup of raisins, not 1-1/2 cups. Thank you, Corinne, for the photo. I'm tickled.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: habiba
its very good
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Zhenya
Wonderful recipe! Followed it exactly and it came out beautifully moist and rich, but not overpowering (I was afraid it would be too sweet!). Was a big hit with the family and a HUGE hit with the colleagues Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 May 2010
Reviewed by: artiste_
This is the best coffee cake I've ever had. It's very moist. Instead of the topping I used sour cream icing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Milda
Great recipie. Very easy and effective. Am fussy baker and this is very pleasant surprise.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Chris Meo
This cake is so easy to make and tastes great!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: Farwa
Very yummy! i dont like dates but this was delicious. i used a loaf pan and it came in a nice rectangular bar shape. perfect size for a great date cake. thank you Laurel!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes