My Reviews (12)

Easy Honey Wheat Bread

This is a delicious chewy bread with a great texture and flavour. It's very easy to make in a bread machine but it can be baked in the oven if you prefer.
Reviews (12)


11 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: MAGGIE MCGUIRE
Very good whole wheat bread. Has a slightly sweet, but not overpowering, flavor. Texture is dense with good crumb. Makes great toast. I really like this bread recipe, Jon. Thanks for posting it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Renee
My test of a good homemade bread is how good it is two days later -- untoasted, with just a little butter. This held up pretty well. I'd even give it a 4 1/2 if I could. It was good fresh with butter and honey (although I would have liked a crunchier crust at this point), good the next day as toast and for sandwich bread. A very all-purpose whole wheat recipe. I might try increasing the amount of granola some next time. It more or less disappeared into the texture of the bread. (I baked it until a turkey thermometer registered 200 degrees, which was just right.)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Gussiecat
I couldn't detect anything particularly distinctive about this wheat bread that the granola added, but it has a pleasant nice and nice, chewy texture. It rose beautifully and baked up into an high, dense, fine-grained loaf.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: TWEETYBIRD46
This bread is delicous. I just love healthy good-tasting bread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Mar 2000
Mine turned out really tough and dense. I prefer a lighter wheat bread. What was left after dinner is going to the ducks tomorrow. My husband asked if they had risen (yes).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: islandgirlejfan
This didn't have quite the taste that I was expecting but it made a fine product and baked well in the breadmaker
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: rhettsgirl1
YUM! I changed this only slightly and it came out prefect. The 3 of us ate half a loaf at dinner last night. I used 2 T coconut oil instead of vegetable oil and used 2.5 teaspoons of yeast (per my machine's rapid wheat cycle instructions). So good. Very flavorful, nice crust and fluffy inside. Can't wait to eat some as toast in the morning!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: DustysMomma
I just made this last night, because my boss asked me for a honey wheat bread. I cut a little off because it wouldn't fit in the gallon ziplock bag and tried a piece with some nutella for breakfast. I only had white wheat flour, because my son won't eat regular wheat bread, and vanilla almond granola (almonds picked out), but it turned out pretty well. The texture was good, it stayed together well while cutting and eating it, and it tastes good. However, I didn't get a lot of granola crunch or that honey flavor that I was expecting. I'll make this again, but will double the granola and the honey and see if that's closer to what I was expecting. Even if it's not, I'll keep making this, because it held up so well and makes a great sandwich bread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: pomplemousse
This is very good. I meant to add another 1/2 cup of granola at the fruit and nut beep, but I didn't hear the beep so I didn't add any more. Bf's comment was that it "tastes like wheat bread"--meaning he doesn't like it that much. I liked it--it's a nice whole wheat loaf, but to make the granola pop and make it a crunchier bread, I'd add the granola at the fruit and nut beep so it won't get incorporated too much. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Nique
This recipe turned out really well. I made it for sandwich bread and both my husband and I like it for that purpose. I felt like it was almost too dry though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes