My Reviews (30)

Spicy Fish Fillets

Use fish like basa, flathead or whiting in this dish that combines Creole and Mexican flavours.
Reviews (30)


11 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: KATHRYN5
This was a great recipe! My husband was really surprised. I cut down the red pepper to about 1/8 tsp and used the "milder" Ro-tel tomatoes. Tht was plenty of spice for us - any more and we would not have been able to taste the fish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 May 2002
Reviewed by: JAMS67
This was excellent!! I would however, leave off the cayenne pepper next time. The can of tomatoes and green chilies would be plenty of peppers. My husband and I loved it and even though we both like spicy food agreed that it was a little too peppery.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 May 2002
Reviewed by: AIMLSLEE
This dish turned out quite good, i served it over steamed rice, which was a nice absorbant for the spiciness of the fish. I used the indicated amount of spices per each medium size catfish filet, which made it quite spicy & flavorful indeed. Perhaps sprinkled on would make it a little milder.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Ryanne
Yummy! Ok I put a lil "spin" on this. I noticed in the comments it says that this is a " dish with a cream sauce". Not sure if anybody else caught that or not. So what I did was baked the fish with seasonings as per directions. In a skillet added the tomatoes and green chilies. Cooked the juices down a bit. THEN I added some heavy cream and cooked til it got really thick. I also also added one pack of Splenda. After the fish was done I simply topped and served. YUMMY!! I imagine it would be good for chicken too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 May 2003
Reviewed by: trooworld
This was excellent, although it took a lot longer to bake than the recipe said. I was out of cayenne pepper and was worried that this would be bland without it, but it wasn't. It had a lot of different flavors going on that mixed well together. It was easy to prepare, too. This is definitely something I would make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: HERO154
This was so easy and flavorful. I don't really like the fishy flavor of catfish, so I tried it with orange roughy, but my favorite (by far) is the tilapia. This tastes like something from my favorite seafood restaurant. An easy yet elegant dish to impress your guests with!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: Laura Retta
Very good baked catfish recipe. As much as we like spicy food though, this one was a little too spicy for our taste. (Too spicy = cannot eat without watery eyes & sniffles.) I'll do one of two things next time to remedy this: use less cayenne pepper or use the mild Rotel tomatoes. Definitely serve this over steamed white rice & have a Corona or two to wash it down with.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 May 2011
Reviewed by: Cookin' Christy
Love, love, LOVE this recipe! It turns boring catfish into a delicious meal! I used cut the amount of cayenne pepper, dill, and thyme in half, but kept the rest of the spices the same. It was perfect! Also, I didn't need all of the butter... next time I'd say only 3 tbsp. for 4 fillets. still, this recipe is a winner! It's great if you serve it with noodles or rice to balance out the spiciness.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: TOPJIMMY
This turned out pretty well. The ingredients for coating the filets did not stretch far enough so I will use more of them next time. My family and I liked it and I will make it again
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 May 2003
Reviewed by: VSOFTTONES
One of the best recipes for baked fish. If you like spicy food, you'll love this one!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes