My Reviews (93)

Cream Cheese Icing I

This is a basic cream cheese icing recipe, perfect for carrot cakes or spice cakes. Customise this to your liking with grated lemon or orange zest, 1 teaspoon any essence, 1 teaspoon of liqueur or a mashed banana.
Reviews (93)


24 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: MARGIE402
This would be five stars if adjusted as follows: 1 box confectioners sugar, 8 oz. cream cheese, 1 tsp. flavoring and 1 tablespoon milk. The consistency then is excellent. Have Cream cheese at room temp. and use an electric mixer for blending all together. Great taste and easy to make.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 May 2003
Reviewed by: veggigoddess
I tweeked it a bit, but not much. The cream is totaly un-neccesary. Also, you should warm up the cream cheese just a bit. I did 40 seconds in the micro and that was perfect! Trying to blend codl cream cheese into anything especially powdered augar is pretty much impossible so do yourself a favor and save time by heating it up slightly. I added a teaspoon vanilla extract and that's it. Ready in 2 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: JESSIEL
really good for carrot cake. i agree with another reviewer, cream is just not necessary. i used light cream cheese, and added 1 1/2 tsp vanilla. one batch covered 24 cupcakes with a little left over!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: PBANJELLY
I used this frosting on a batch of red velvet cupcakes -- instant addiction. Everyone at the party I made them for was complimenting me all night. The frosting is exceedingly easy and very delicious. I made it with whipping cream, which gave it a fluffy texture, and vanilla, which added a nice flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: Jill
My 5 year old loved this frosting. It was very easy to mix and spread. I doubled the recipe though and barely had enough to cover my 9" round cake. This recipe amount would probably be fine for a sheet cake but make more of it for frosting a double round cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: Susan
i subbed skim milk for the cream, and fat-free cream cheese for the regular cream cheese.. turned out very yummy! but be sure to put it in the freezer or refrigerator for awhile before frosting, as it will be a bit runny
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: Robin Seidel
I made this with the Moist Carrot Cake recipe from this site for our Easter dessert. Really very good, and not all that sweet, which is my preference. Like others, I added a bit of pineapple juice that was left over from the carrot cake. Also added orange zest which gave a nice kick, and decorated with mandarin oranges. Since I made a 2-layer 8" cake from the cake recipe, I needed to double the frosting recipe. Had just enough.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jun 2001
Reviewed by: Jette
Perfect!!! I wouln't cange a thing! (I make twice the amount and freeze half for the next time I bake a cake.)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: JANETTYR
I liked this recipe for a red velvet cake,I doubled it and added a tsp. of vanilla. Everyone loved it - I will use it again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Heinz14
I added 2 tsp Vanilla and 1 tsp almond extract for extra flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes