My Reviews (92)

Shiitake Mushroom Soup

This is a basic Japanese appetiser intended to whet the appetite before the main course. You've probably had it in Japanese restaurants.
Reviews (92)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
JACQUETTA said:
Altered ingredient amounts. This approximated Benihana's onion soup, but didn't quite make it. Still good, though! I made mine in a pressure cooker by reducing the liquid to 5 cups (I should have done 4 cups) and adding all other ingredients as listed, except for chopped shiitakes. I just got some white sliced mushrooms from the produce section without checking their type, and poured the stock over those with some sliced green onions and french fried onions. Thanks for the recipe.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: CAREYCOX
Absolutely loved this recipe. I've been looking for a Japanese mushroom Soup recipe for years -- trying to mimick the local hibachi restaurant. This was IT! Fantastic!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: KATEZ21
This soup is fabulous. It tastes similar to what you would get in a Japanese place. Great easy soup to freeze as well for when you aren't feeling well. I eat this everytime I get sick (upset stomach, colds) and it warms me. THANK YOU!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: HAILBUZZY
We frequent a japanese steak house that serves this, yummm. My 11 year old asked if I could make this, he loved it. So simple, but yet good. Thanks Sawako
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: JUSTMABEL
Maybe I did something wrong here, but my roommate says it tasted like "slightly flavoured water" I agree. I followed all the directions, except mushrooms, and all I got was a pot full of oniony flavoured water. I thought that only 3 teaspoons of bouillon and 2 tablespoons of stock sounded like a small amount...
 
08 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Jillian N.
After I read the reviews stating that this recipe is 'bland' and tasted like 'onion flavored water', I made sure I added extra ingredients to the boiled 'mixture'. I halved the recipe, but more or less estimated on the amounts of vegetables. I used a couple dried shiitake mushrooms (I had my biggest one simmer in the pot) and regular white button mushrooms. As far as bouillion goes, three cubes of beef and three cubes of chicken bouillions were PERFECT. Add a chopped green onion or two and a couple dashes of black pepper- and it's heaven. Granted, I hated waiting the 45 minutes for the soup to reduce, but it was definitely worth it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: JanxAngel
Maybe I did something wrong here, but my roommate says it tasted like "slightly flavored water" I agree. I followed all the directions, except mushrooms, and all I got was a pot full of oniony flavored water. I thought that only 3 teaspoons of bouillon and 2 tablespoons of stock sounded like a small amount...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: SHOCKLEY1
This was fantastic - better than our favorite restaurant. Only change, omit the chicken stock and add 1 teaspoon of chicken boullion granules. And don't bother dicing up the veggies, just do a rough chop since they are discarded anyway.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: SarahWearsHeadbands
This approximated Benihana's onion soup, but didn't quite make it. Still good, though! I made mine in a pressure cooker by reducing the liquid to 5 cups (I should have done 4 cups) and adding all other ingredients as listed, except for chopped shiitakes. I just got some white sliced mushrooms from the produce section without checking their type, and poured the broth over those with some sliced green onions and french fried onions. Thanks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: I'm nuts too...
We frequent a japanese steak house (Domo 77) that serves this, yummm. My 11 year old asked if I could make this, he loved it. So simple, but yet good. Thanks Sawako
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes