My Reviews (12)

Braised Beef Roast with Cranberries

Here's an interesting way to braise a beef roast - with horseradish and cranberry sauce! It can be reheated and tastes even better the second day.
Reviews (12)


03 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: janet7th
I made this today using a slow cooker and it was wonderful! I browned the beef first and then followed the recipe except that I added half of a fairly large onion. I deglazed the pan which got the sauce ingredients warm to go into the slow cooker and preserved all the wonderful caramelized beef flavor. Cooked it on low for six hours and served with mashed potatoes and cooked carrots. I didn't thicken the broth but you could if you wanted to. It was a really good dinner and I am looking forward to the leftovers tomorrow! Thanks for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Valetta
Too flavorful, moist and tender to be so easy to prepare! And the sauce is incredible. I'm saving some for burgers on the grill. Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Cooking
Wonderful! I've been trying to find a pot roast recipe that both my husband and I love and this is it! Not too sweet, not too acidic. I followed the recipe exactly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Jaja's daughter
I also threw in some leftover seafood cocktail sauce to use it up since it's basically tomato sauce and horseradish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: N. Twedell
I love this. It is sooooo tasty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: KIMAR
Flavor okay but couldn't really taste the cranberry. Alright but nothing special. Maybe adding an onion would help?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: Baking Nana
I had high hopes for this recipe as we love cranberry sauce. I really couldn't taste the cranberry - there was way to much tomato sauce to allow the cranberry and horseradish flavors to shine. There was a ton of sauce / gravy which I ended up tossing out. It needs onion for sure, maybe even dry onion soup mix.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: Jennifer Baker
This is a good, easy recipe. I used a can of whole berry cranberry sauce, and would have liked more horseradish for the kick it could give, because I almost couldn't taste it. I'm not sure that I would call this a "go-to" recipe for my next roast, but it was tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: julie.patten
My daughter loved the gravy. I thought it was good but unbalanced. Maybe a pinch of salt on the meat before browning may help.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jun 2018
Reviewed by: Ivy
Had to tear myself away!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes