My Reviews (64)

Easy Cranberry Oat Bars

This is a delicious and easy recipe for cranberry bars or slices. They're festive in the holiday season and would make great gifts.
Reviews (64)


04 Jul 2014
Reviewed by: TimothyJones
Awesome recipe so delicious and easy but add a bit of water to the cranberry mix because it clumps up into a ball and you can't smooth it out but besides that, it's great defiantly make this again
 
01 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Mary Beth
I have made this recipe twice. First I made it with the changes suggested by some readers: 1 cup unsweetened applesauce, 3 cups cranberries, 1 cup sugar and a 9 X 13 pan. But the applesauce diluted the intense cranberry flavor, and the crust wasn't substantial enough (the bars were too flimsy). So the second time, I used the following ingredients, also in a 9 X 13 pan: 4 cups cranberries 1 1/3 cups white sugar 3 tablespoons orange zest 2 cups rolled oats 1 1/2 cups flour 1/2 teaspoon baking soda 1/2 teaspoon salt 3/4 cup packed light-brown sugar 1 teaspoon cinnamon 2 sticks butter I baked it for about 35 minutes at 370 degrees. The cranberry filling had the intense flavor I wanted, and the crust was substantial, making for a firm bar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 May 2006
Reviewed by: Vicky Gunkel
I doubled this for a 9x13" pan, with a few modifications to the filling only. Instead of doubling the cranberries, I added the directed 2 cups of cranberries, then I added 2 cups of peeled, chopped, apple and cooked till tender and reduced. Then I added 1/4 cup of apple juice with 1 Tbsp. cornstarch stirred in to thicken filling. The end result was an awesome filling without the bite that often accompanies cranberry recipes. Everybody at my picnic loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: magdathegypsy
These are dangerously delicious. I make them in a 9 x 13 pan, increasing the amount of filling by adding unsweetened applesauce to the cranberry mixture. I use whole wheat flour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: LISA3267
This bar has everything a person wants in a desserty bar. Crunchy,Tart,Chewy,Sweet! All rolled up in one delicious bar! If you like cranberry treats, then this one is for you! I made it in a 9x13 instead of a 9x9(didn't own one). And increased the cranberries to 2 cups, and increased the sugar to 1c. Other than that the recipie is wonderful!! Putting it in a foil lined pan makes removing this dessert a snap, as well as cutting them into squares. A+ Nicely done!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Brianna Rudd
This recipe is GREAT! I work at a coffee shop and we order cranberry walnut bars from somewhere else. I tried them and wanted to find a recipe so that I could make them at home. This recipe looked like it was the closest match so I tested it out. I added about 1/2 a cup more oatmeal, 1/2 cup of coarsely chopped walnuts, as well as some allspice, cinnamon and cloves to the dry mixture and used 1 (16 oz) can of whole berrry cranberry sauce as the middle spread instead of making the cranberry sauce myself. They turned out amazing and almost the exact flavor of the ones we sell at the coffee shop! One more thing, I did use a 9x9 pan put I had no extra because I make a very thick bottom layer and also worked the bottom layer up the side of the pan halfway. I saved just enough of the mixture to cover the top of the cranberry sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Monica G.
I've made thi recipe for my husband's lunches for the last three weeks. The first week was with the cranberries. Last week I used blueberries. This week it is raspberries with a few cranberries thrown in. He loves them! I think I have figured out the problem with the left over dry ingredients. Usually I increase the recipe for a 9x13 baking dish. This week, I made the recipe as shown for a 9x9 baking dish and still used a 9x13 baking dish. It was just the correct amount of dry ingredients with not a ton left over.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Mary
I carefully followed the instructions for the crust, though I was leery of the amounts. Even though I increased the amount of butter called for to 1 cup, the crust was very dry and it tasted "floury". AND, what is the baking powder for? There are no ingredients to activate its leavening action, so it does nothing. I will probably make these again, but will use common sense in making the crust: less flour, more butter, a bit more salt and definitely no baking powder.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: ALLARDJR
Really yummy! I only had a 9 x 13 pan, so I increased all of the ingredients by 1.5 and baked about 25 minutes. I then broiled for just about 2 minutes to give it an extra crispness. I substituted lemon zest for orange zest, and added just a dash of lemon juice to the cranberry mixture. The only thing I'd do differently is add a tiny bit more brown sugar to the crust next time. A really great snack on its own, or downright divine warmed up, drizzled with caramel and served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream! Even the kids loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: sarah
This was good, but the proportions are way off. Next time I would double the cranberry mixture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes