My Reviews (51)

Fresh Peach Cobbler

This is a great peach cobbler that uses fresh peaches and is easy to make. Adjust the brown sugar accord into your taste and the sweetness of the peaches.
Reviews (51)


06 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Cindy Catudal Shank
Here are some tips for this cobbler recipe. If you want to reduce the fat, you can reduce the butter to 1/4 cup and the oil to 1/2 cup without compromising the flavor. This is a crust-heavy recipe. If you want more emphasis on the peaches, just make half the topping ingredients or make two pans of peaches and divide one crust recipe over them. You can also add flavors to the crust (like vanilla or almond extract) or a splash of flavor to the peaches (like amaretto). You can change the cinnamon to nutmeg or a combination of spices if you like, or sprinkle the top with chopped nuts before baking.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: tnahinu
This was very good but I also altered it slightly after reading a few reviews. I cut the oil and butter in half. I aslo cut the white sugar to 1 1/2 cups. It was perfect, not too sweet at all.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: JoyceBj
Very dissappointing. The first few bites were wonderful because I like sweet food. But then it was overpowering. If I use this recipe again, I'll only use half of the topping ingredients. Also, I'll use the butter for the topping and skip the oil. Right now I'm picking out the peaches to eat them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: JARRIE
We loved this. I did use the recipe submitter's low-fat suggestions, with great success. I also added a splash of vanilla to the wet ingredients, and we served this hot with vanilla ice cream. Tasted like a bowlful of Ben & Jerry's "Willie Nelson's Peach Cobbler" ice cream! Thanks for the recipe! (P. S. I'd use more peaches, 2 more, I think, next time, mine were small, but we like a lot of fruit.) EDIT: Be sure to store this in the refrigerator as the crust gets soggy if left out of the fridge for too long!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Julie Olsen
Each year at this time I normally make the Southern Peach Cobbler off this site. I love to make different recipes, so I thought I would try this one. The only reason I gave this 4 stars is because I altered the oil and the sugar in it. The taste is for sure 5 star worthy!! Anyway, I cut the oil to 3/4 cup and the white sugar to 1 1/3 cups.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: RODORSEY
This is not a recipe that I would recommend to anyone. Last night I made it for my husband. Needless to say, we were both very disappointed. The filling is delicious, but the crust is inedible. It browns up quite nicely and is crisp on top, but it is so greasy that we could not eat it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: midwestchef
Excellent! Hubby made this delicious cobbler...with a little help from his friendly wife! We enjoyed it a lot - make sure it's thoroughly baked or it will taste doughy. We halved the recipe and it would esily serve 8 w/wo ice cream.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: landed
Peach cobbler is my all time favorite dessert so I am always trying different recipes looking for the best. I prefer a cobbler-crumb combination for the crust but gave this a try. I actually cut all ingredients in half except for the peaches( used about 6 medium) and baked in a pie plate. This cobbler was more like peaches with a very, very sweet sugar cookie on top. It reminded me more of a crumb. The first couple spoonfuls were good, but I too got overwhelmed after the initial spoonfuls from the sweetness like another reviewer stated. This recipe was super fast to make and I may try it again but next time reduce the sugar. It is a quick dessert if one is needed for a potluck or other occasion.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: italprincess75
I took the advice of cutting the amount of butter and oil in half and my own addition was slivered almonds on top of the peaches. This is fantastic! It tastes like almond macaroon cookies on top of luscious fresh peaches! A definite keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: saraann6
If you like peaches and sugar cookies this is a perfect combination for a cobbler! It is very sweet and very easy to make. It takes less than 10 minutes to put together.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes