My Reviews (130)

Tuna and Macaroni Salad

A simple salad that makes a great lunch or light dinner, tuna and pasta is combined with peas, hard-boiled eggs and mayonnaise.
Reviews (130)


14 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: KATIEKLG
This was a very good starter recipe but it definitely needs a few extra ingredients to make it yummy! I omitted the peas and added diced celery, green onions, cubed cheddar cheese, and sweet relish. It needed a lot of seasoning and I used mayo, horseradish sauce, seasoning salt, garlic salt and pepper. With all the additions it turned out great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: GRAMMA GORGEOUS
Since there are only 2 of us now..we use 1 drained can GOOD quality Albacore tuna in water, 1cup dry small shell pasta cooked and drained. Add a couple of dashes of dill weed,salt, pepper, and if desired dry minced onion or onion powder to taste, only one diced egg, 1 or 2 stalks of celery thinly sliced,(taste and adjust Mayo and seasonings) 1/2 cup cubed mild cheddar cheese, and 1/2 can drained canned peas (or 1 cup frozen peas cooked,drained and cooled)..have to fold in gently after it's all mixed well. Refrigerate at least 4 hours or overnight.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: MAGGIE MCGUIRE
This was a good salad, however it really needs the celery and green onions for texture and flavor. I felt the dressing needed something, so I added 3T of bottled Caesar dressing and a teaspoon of prepared horseradish sauce. Thanks Ann.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Dec 2000
Reviewed by: GREEN GIANT
The very basic of all Tuna salad recipes. Try adding some or your own ingredients (ie. celery, onions) to make this recipe complete.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: caliboo
This was nothing spectacular, just a very basic macaroni salad recipe. It definitely needs celery for that extra crunch. I added some spices, celery salt, cayenne, and garlic powder to kick it up a bit, as well as a bit of ranch dressing mixed in with the mayo. It was good with the additions, but very basic and bland without them. This recipe needs some work, but it's a good starting point.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: VTQK
This is such a quick and easy meal. It definitely needs chopped onion for flavor. I also added a little lemon juice, some curry powder, and shredded cheddar cheese and it was delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Chris
Great recipe. I didn't measure the mayo but rather dumped in tablespoons until I got the right consistency. I also added a little milk to make it a little creamier and a little onion adds a little crunch too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: I'm nuts too...
This is good, it was a little dry for my particular taste, but no biggie, I just added a little more mayo. I also used canned chicken breast (Swanson) instead of the tuna to please my picky children. Next time, I'll add some diced green onion. Thanks for sharing Ann!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 May 2003
Reviewed by: DREGINEK
"Good" and basic cold pasta salad. My boyfriend wouldn't touch it - he's not a huge fan of tuna but everyone else seemed to enjoy it. I used miracle whip instead of mayo (and added to taste). Also, I added a jar of diced pimentos for color and some chopped celery for some crunch. A good side to our homemade sub sandwiches.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Megan Reinbold
This was a great starter recipe. I added green onions and celery for flavor and crunch, and just a bit of garlic salt. Use enough mayo for the consistency you want - not an exact science. I found out the hard way that it's better to use smaller noodles! Mini-shells or rings work best. A tip for eggs if you're not a seasoned veteran: Use older eggs (they're easier to peel), put them in cold water, then put the pot with the eggs on the stove. Once it boils, simmer 1 minute, cover, and remove from heat. Let sit 15 minutes then put them in cold water to stop cooking. You can't go wrong!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes