My Reviews (65)

Walnut and Coconut Biscotti

This is my modern twist on a traditional favourite of biscotti by adding walnuts and coconut. Makes an ideal morning or afternoon tea.
Reviews (65)


22 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Heather O.
I serve this biscotti every Christmas and it is a big hit. I made a few changes: I decreased the flour to 3 cups (perfect), increased the coconut to 3/4 cup and toasted it, and used toasted pecans or almonds instead of walnuts (I like the flavor of the other two better). One time I forgot to add the coconut extract and the coconut flavor was not nearly so pronounced. I usually drizzle chocolate over the top for looks. This is a really great recipe, and if you like coconut you will fall in love.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Jillington
This is a nice twist on walnut biscotti. I'd like to offer these suggestions to aid in flavor and forming: Decrease flour to 3 cups, toast the coconut til lightly browned and crunchy and increase to 1 cup, add a generous Tablespoon of Malibu rum instead of the coconut flavoring. Proceed with recipe as written.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: sdbaker
Great recipe with changes. Decrease flour to 2 1/2c, increase coconut to 3/4c and add 1/2c mini semi-sweet chocolate chips. I use slivered almonds or macadamia nuts in place of walnuts. I bake biscotti at least twice a month and this is the new favorite.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: mama_and_me
What did I do wrong, Carl? My dough turned out very dry and crumbly. I couldn't get it to form into a log. I ended up making little cookies out of it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: cookiequeen
****5 star biscotti recipe. Great tea or coffee biscuit as well. YUMMY! Only change was to add one cup of coconut and I lessened the flour as another reviewer suggested to 3 cups. I did add in extra coconut extract for I like a strong coconut flavor to my cookies. Oh and I only had almonds so I used them instead of walnuts. I dipped half of the batch in milk choc and kept half plain. Both were more than 5 stars. MMMMMM! Will be using these in my Xmas cookie tins.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 May 2007
Reviewed by: Zuperbre
Yum! Yum! Using the extract is the key to the taste in this, so don't skip the extract! Some reviews said this was too crumbly (just add some milk to the mix, people!), but mine came out great. I dipped some in white chocolate and others in dark--excellent! Tip: Use a ruler to help shape the biscotti: use the flat side of a normal 12 inch ruler and "scrape" the biscotti into shape on a flat (preferably cold) countertop. This way you can tell just how thick and how flat the biscotti is; if that made any sense.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Stacey
Awesome biscotti! This is the first of six different kinds that I made from this site and it is my favorite out of all of them. Followed recipe as written but sub. pecans for the walnuts and toasted the coconut. Try this, it really is the best!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: SHECOOKS2
This is a very nice biscotti. It is a little richer than biscotti made with egg only. The butter in this recipe makes it very rich. The coconut flavor is very subtle. This is also quite easy to make.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: MAGGIE MCGUIRE
Excellent recipe. Crispy and flavorful. Its a very good basic recipe in which you can sub. lemon, almond or orange extract for the coconut extract. Toast your coconut for the extra nutty coconut flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: STELLY
These turned out fine for me...maybe a bit drier than other biscotti I've tried. If the dough crumbles when you try to make your logs, add a bit of liquid like a drop or two of milk.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes