My Reviews (208)

Coconut Fish with Apricot Sauce

Boneless white fish is floured, egged then covered in coconut before being fried and served with a homemade apricot dipping sauce.
Reviews (208)


12 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Derec
MMMMmm... delicious! A tip for easier coating, use tongs OR your left hand to dip in the egg, and let all the excess drip off before placing into the coconut mixture. Then use your right hand to sprinkle some of the coconut over the top and press down into it, flip and press down again. This method will help you avoid getting a battered and breaded "club hand", the term used by chefs for this problem! Line up the corn starch dip, egg dip, coconut mix and then a plate ready for the finished fillets. You can do this "assembly line" process beforehand, then refrigerate till ready to fry. This also makes the coating stick MUCH better! A little resturant tip.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: havenhatch
This really is an excellent dish. I baked the tilapia at 350 degrees for about 20-25 minutes i believe and turned it twice to crisp both sides. it turned out wonderful. the apricot dipping sauce is excellent!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: KatBeth
It turned out just like the picture, and the taste was very appealing. I did end up baking it instead, 425 degrees for 10-12 minutes, and was pleased with the result.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Teresa on the coast
This is a WONDERFUL way to cook tilapia! My family enjoyed it from the very first bite. It was very easy to make, yet elegant to eat. I made a few adjustments and it turned out perfectly. First, I cut the tilapia loin fillets in half (easier to work with) for 8 nice pieces. I used Baker's Angel Flake sweetened coconut, right out of the package (not finely chopped). It made the texture perfect and crispy (see my photo above). I used 1 whole, beaten, egg in place of the substitute and I put the cornstarch and tilapia pieces into a large ziplock bag and shook them to coat. Tongs were a great suggestion for removing the tilapia from the cornstarch baggie and dipping in the egg and coconut without a mess. To cut down on fat, I baked them in a pyrex dish sprayed with olive oil Pam (also a very light spray on top of the fish to help it crisp up!) @ about 350* for about 20-30 mins. I did not flip them or anything and they were perfectly cooked and crispy on the outside and moist on the inside without being greasy. The Apricot Dipping Sauce is amazing! My mom who ALWAYS and ONLY eats fish with tarter sauce said that "THIS was way better!" Thanks for this recipe, it is easy, elegant and super delish! A new favorite in my house!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 May 2008
Reviewed by: jeanob14
Baked in the oven as others suggested using a pyrex dish, no need to flip over during cooking. Always looking for new fish recipes. This one was easy, different and delicious. The sauce went perfectly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Pat Turner
This was pretty good. I baked instead of fried and next time I will drizzle a little oil on the top. The fish was moist but the coconut was a little dry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 May 2006
Reviewed by: jenny
this was great! followed recipe exactly and was fabulous. husband couldn't get enough! Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: BATCAVES
This is excellent. I modified this by baking instead of frying. Still great. The sauce have a nice blend of flavors as well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: BARNKITTY
Really loved the texture the coconut gave. Only could find sweetened coconut, so maybe a little too sweet for my taste. Used one whole egg, which was just enough for a pound of fish. The sauce is nicely spicy/sweet. An easy meal that "feels" fancy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Josephine Roeper
My husband hates coconuts and he even said he liked these! Didn't even have to tell kids to eat their meals. Wonderful recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes