My Reviews (16)

Italian pork roast

Clear out some space in the fridge because for best results - the pork has to marinate for three days before cooking. This is a traditional Italian pork shoulder - Porchetta - my mother taught me how to make. It is very flavourful as long as you put enough herbs and spices in it! The pork skin makes fantastic crackling ! You can stuff the roast with many different spices and foods, variations to try are roasted red capsicums, sausage, prosciutto, etc.
Reviews (16)


04 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: cookingmom
We love this recipe. It is really flavourful, and we only used dried herbs. Also the cut of meat is not expensive. It is also easy and I just let it do it's own work sitting in the fridge. The marinating really makes this recipe. I halved the salt as was suggested. Caution, garlic lovers only.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Chef Jim Jankoski
BE WARNED!!!...This is an authentic variation of the Porchetta....It is NOT nor was it ever intented to be a LEAN Healthy Roast! This most popular preparation in Italy, is most commonly made from an entire Pig or for smaller amounts just the Pork BELLY. It is intended to be a celebration of the Piggy in all it wonderful FATTY, FLAVORFUL, GOODNESS! ENJOY YOURSELF for once, you can go back to Carrot Sticks and Fat Free Yogurt tomorrow! BTW...450F for the first 30 minutes will yield a crispier skin and shallow Cross cuts, just through the skin, will make the roast pretty and easier to portion the tasty 'cracklin'. Happy New Year...JJ
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: VORCHA
Very easy to make and well-worth the little bit of planning to make it. Don't be tempted to cut the marinating time down in, it really makes the dish! The leftovers make divine sandwiches making it another reason to plan ahead to marinate it for 3 days.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Feb 2000
Reviewed by: ada
Cut the amount of salt in half. This recipe is very close to the Porchetta that is made in the Abruzzi region of Italy, a specialty there.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Naylynn
Wow! This was the best pork roast I have ever made. The flavor was great. My roast was tender and moist. But I did cook it in a roasting bag because I was afraid I would dry it out. I also used a meat thermometer and made sure that I didn't over cook it. I took one reviewers suggestion and cut the salt in half just because I didn't want it to be overly salty. You can add it but you can't take it away. I'm glad I did because it was perfect. This is now my favorite pork roast recipe. UPDATE: Most of the time I only marinate this for 6-8 hours and it still has good flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: OVATION
Last year I made this for my family for x-mas and they just loved it, every year I try a new theme but this year they wanted the same they liked it so SO MUCH. I is very good and I think fast due to its all preped 3 days before and the roast is cheap..
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: TAMVAN1
This Pork Roast recipe is awesome, I have served it a couple of times to guests and they always ask for the recipe. Very easy to make and if you plan ahead the three day marinading is well worth the effort.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: STEPHEN L
I MADE THIS FOR MY FAMILY AND THAY ALL LOVED IT. IVE MADE IT TWO TIMES AND BVOTH TIMES IT CAME OUT GREAT
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 May 2008
Im sorry but this was not appetizing at all. My husband thought that was the worst cut of meat I ever made. Very Fatty. I also didn't like the idea of having it sit raw for 3 days!! It had a funny taste. Some people on the site liked it though so see for yourself. It just wasn't for us. We are Italian and never had a roast like this before. Sorry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: JESSICA202
I think maybe I just don't like this cut of pork. But I wanted to give it a try. It was so unappealing that I couldn't even bring myself to serve it. Perhaps it would be better with a pork loin, however I will not try again that's for sure.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes