My Reviews (19)

Wreath Fruit Cake

This is a great fruit cake that is cooked in a ring tin giving the impression of a wreath. Includes ingredients beyond the standard fruit cake including dates, pineapple and coconut.
Reviews (19)


27 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: HOLDMACSKA
I tried this fruitcake in the last minute before Xmas. I substituted the sugar with rum-flavoured brown sugar and the result was fantastic. I baked two loaves and they disappeared within a day! Thank you for this easy and tasty recipe! Niki from Hungary
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: CCAMPBELL0509
This is the first fruit cake that I have ever baked. I know it is not Christmas, but I love fruit cake and this was the only recipe that I could find that did not have brandy or rum in it and it is the best. I can't stop eating it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: George
I am NOT a cook having to learn after my wife's death. But this recipe was easy to follow and it was FANTASTIC. It tasted like the fruit cake I have always eaten growing up.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: TRUDY
The best easy fruitcake recipe. Last year I had to make this cake three times before Christmas because we love it so much. I've already today baked one today as my hubby requested it for Thanksgiving.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: TUNISIANSWIFE
delicious! Even a non-fruitcake eater would like this. I agree that this is best after it has set a day or two to make it moist. I subbed the lemon with an orange instead. added the zest of one orange and 2 tsp juice. The butter really makes it so good. I toasted the nuts first for a nicer level of flavor. I don't think the parchment is necessary and wouldn't bother to use it again. Made this in 2 bread tins to give away and had 1 small mini loaf for myself the batter is more like dough but easy to work with.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: josie
This is the first fruit cake I have ever made...it is wonderful! Very simple, and simply delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Anoushka
Used whole wheat flour and added 1/2 cup of milk. Simply amazing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: Caryl
I have never made fruitcake before so I followed the directions EXACTLY. The cake was dry and crumbly. I cooked it for two hours per the instructions and it was way toooo long. I was very disappointed. The batter was amazingly good. We loved the batter, so I will try making it again and cutting the time in half at least!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: QueenVic
This cake is really yummy! Couple things, though. . .I used orange zest and juice cuz I like a sweet cake, not too sharply citrus. (Does that make sense?) But the biggest thing is 2 hours is WAY too long to bake!! I baked mine 1 hour and 20 minutes. The toothpick was clean so I took it out. It was totally done. I will actually check it a little sooner than 80 minutes next time. If you baked this for 2 hours, you will have a dry crumbly mess. Don't hesitate to try this recipe, especially for Christmas!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2015
Reviewed by: Pat Pearson Olson
I made it just as written the first time. The author is right that you can eat it the same day. It smelled wonderful baking. We liked it so well that I had to bake another one. This time I decided to experiment with it and do what my grandmother used to do. I mixed a simple syrup with a mixture of whiskey, brandy and rum and brushed it all over the cake. Then I wrapped it up in plastic wrap then foil and put it in a tin and placed in a cool place to age. I repeated with the liquor again and let it sit a couple of weeks. It tasted wonderful to my family and friends. Now, I need to go to Publix and purchase the ingredients to make this for Christmas!??
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes