My Reviews (111)

Chocolate Walnut Cake with Rum Glaze

This is a very rich and decadent cake but because it uses premade ingredients it is a snap to prepare! The rum glaze makes it perfect for festive occasions like Christmas.
Reviews (111)


03 Jan 2001
Reviewed by: Marianne G
FABULOUS!!! I gave this out over the holidays and everyone raved and wanted the recipe! I did make a few changes... I used Meyers rum instead of white rum in both the cake & the glaze. I also substituted brown sugar for the white sugar in the glaze. I used mini Bundt pans (to make 6 cakes)and decreased the cooking time until a toothpick or knife inserted came out clean.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: CAKEBABE1
What could be better than chocolate and rum mixed together? My only suggestions are that you use light rather than white rum, and make it a day ahead so that the flavors have time to improve. This cake is delicious and moist, plus it's easy to make. MMMM!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: Dawn Egan Geevers
WOW! This is fantastic- definitely let the glaze soak in overnight- I love rum cake and this recipe was delicious! A definite keeper! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Paula D
Made cake for my mother's bridge group. Poked holes in top of cake with long two prong fork (after baking.) Then I used measuring cup to pour small amounts of glaze, repeating procedure after glaze soaked into cake. The men liked the cake because it was not too sweet and had a lot of moisture. It probably tasted better because I made day before serving, refrigerated overnight, cut in serving pieces about four hours before serving at room temperature.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Dale Ann Wieland Epley
Yum! Very easy, tasty and it smells fabulous. It was a big hit at a recent family Christmas party. I used Myers Rum instead of white rum in both cake and glaze, replaced a little of the water in the glaze with rum, and replaced 1/2 C of white sugar with dark brown sugar in the glaze as well. I may add a little cinnamon to this one next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: EntertainingHen
Very good and moist! I'm a "scratch" baker and thought it would taste like a boxed recipe but surprisingly good! I cut down the sugar a bit for the glaze but excellent! gobbled up. Lots of ideas for variations.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: SARAHMAY
Great! Very easy recipe for such a nice cake. I didn't have any regular white rum so I used coconut flavored rum. It didn't get a coconut flavor like I thought it would and it was still great. My cake turned out very moist. The only problem was that I had no leftovers to take home.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Mar 2000
Reviewed by: XWHITE
The batter is very dense, which I wasn't expecting. Also, I recommend making this a day ahead to let the rum glaze sink in. It will be moister.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Elliott
This recipe made me and my girl wanna eat the whole thing right after pouring the glaze on, but we also wanted to try it tomorrow after it's soaked up all the glazy goodness. The recipe as is would be amazing for sure, but our taste buds made a few interesting suggestions that eventually led us to using Sailor Jerry's Spiced Rum instead of that white stuff, 5.9 oz chocolate pudding mix, dark chocolate cake mix, and adding 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips, 1/2 cup walnuts on the bottom and 1/2 cup in the mix, and yummy rich brown sugar instead of again... that white stuff.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: CLAUDIAGUGLIETTI
THIS CAKE WAS VERY EASY TO MAKE AND VERY TASTY!! iT WAS EVEN BETTER THE NEXT DAY AFTER BEING REFRIDGERATED!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes