My Reviews (58)

Pan Fried Roti Bread

Make your own delicious sweet and crisp flatbread the next time you serve an Indian meal! Roti are pan fried and super easy to make.
Reviews (58)


29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: BRENDA-P
This recipe was so easy and wonderful. Tip: I added sliced banannas to the centre before re-rolling it, and it tastes just like bananna roti I used to eat in Chaing Mai, Thailand. Drizzle some sweetend condensend milk on top for the truly authentic version. Thanks for the recipe!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
WIFEAGE said:
Something else. This bread was very good, and I like the fact that I didn't have to make a special trip to the store to get the ingredients! I intend to serve this as an after school snack! I really enjoyed this recipe, once I made the following adjustments: I had to add a BIT more water (gradually) so that I could work with the dough. The recipe didn't specify to do so, but I did chill the dough prior to baking, with good results. Also, I added the "three sisters," cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves, to the sugar I put on the dough. I also doubled this recipe, and it was BARELY enough, everyone liked it so well! I followed the directions for rolling out and frying, but after about four of them, mine were too doughy, and I personally don't like oil, so I took the rest of the flattened balls (I rolled all of them and then flattened them all at once), laid them out and cut them into strips with a pizza cutter and baked at 170 until golden! Served with honey butter, and both blackberry and strawberry preserves (and vanilla ice cream), these went faster than I could bake them! The next time I make this recipe, I'm going to try baking small rounds of it over inverted ramikens to make little edible dessert bowls. Wonderful!
 
19 Apr 2015
Reviewed by: DeleneMundy-Bennett
Tried one with the sugar as per recipe.. found it too sweet... so left it out of the others.... had to make a second lot before finished cooking the first lot... did need a tad more water.. and loved it only needed a slight smear of oil... so no oil slick here.. devine.. def will make again
 
21 Jun 2013
Reviewed by: Missgoogoodoll
Followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect. So easy to make and the results were great!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: deandrea
Very simple to make. I substituted 1/4 of the flour with wholemeal pastry flour and liked the "nutty" taste that resulted. Very similar to chapatti, just sweeter.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: mmmdessert
Really good, and simple, since these ingredients are always on hand. Also can be made more or less sweet with the amount of sugar added. Requires some messy rolling, however.
 
16 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Jenna
This bread was very good, and I like the fact that I didn't have to make a special trip to the store to get the ingredients! I intend to serve this as an after school snack! I really enjoyed this recipe, once I made the following adjustments: I had to add a BIT more water (gradually) so that I could work with the dough. The recipe didn't specify to do so, but I did chill the dough prior to baking, with good results. Also, I added the "three sisters," cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves, to the sugar I put on the dough. I also doubled this recipe, and it was BARELY enough, everyone liked it so well! I followed the directions for rolling out and frying, but after about four of them, mine were too doughy, and I personally don't like oil, so I took the rest of the flattened balls (I rolled all of them and the flattened them all at once), laid them out and cut them into strips with a pizza cutter and baked at 345 until golden! Served with honey butter, and both blackberry and strawberry preserves (and vanilla ice cream), these went faster than I could bake them! The next time I make this recipe, I'm going to try baking small rounds of it over inverted ramikens to make little edible dessert bowls. This is a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: AMAPANDORA
I substituted flour for pancake mix. I was looking for an easy recipe for my fiance' to make. I rolled them a little thinner than recipe called for, and fried them as directed. They were very good, even with pancake mix. I then mixed some butter and honey together to make honey butter and dipped the bread into the butter. MMM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Nov 2000
Reviewed by: ASTROPHE
Very simple to make. I substituted 1/4 of the flour with whole wheat pastry flour and liked the "nutty" taste that resulted. Very similar to chapatti, just sweeter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Griffin
This recipe was so easy and wonderful. Tip: I added sliced banannas to the center before re-rolling it, and it tastes just like bananna roti I used to eat in Chaing Mai, Thailand. Drizzle some sweetend condensend milk on top for the truly authentic version. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes