My Reviews (84)

Low Calorie Chocolate Chip Biscuits

Lower calorie chocolate chip biscuits. Keep in mind sugar substitutes vary; use an amount equivalent to 3/4 cup regular sugar.
Reviews (84)


02 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: slkbb03
Here is a little hint to make these cookies as much like "regular cookies" as possible, for every 1c sugar substitute, add 1/2c dry milk and 1/2t baking soda. Just check cookies 3-5 mins. prior to original recipes bake time. You can use this for any cookie recipe, just trade out sugar for substitute and extra needed items. Works everytime! Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Ella
Exactly what I was looking for!! Great taste and an easy recipe to follow. And as a hint to others, Hershey's makes a sugar free chocolate chunk made especially for baking. You can find it stores like Walmart in their candy isle not the baking isle. Also there is a grain sweetened chocolate chip out there called Sunrise. It's usually found in your organic health food stores. But it does melt much easier in higher heats. Also if you spray the cookies with butter flavored pan spray a couple of mins before cookies are done baking it will help turn the cookie brown.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: Jen
These were EXCELLENT. Make sure you flatten and shape these a little yourself because the 'spread factor' is minimal. They don't really brown much, either, (when my husband came home and saw them on the cookie sheet he didn't think I had baked them yet), so don't look for browning as a sign of doneness. I took another reviewer's suggestion and popped a couple in the microwave for a few seconds before giving them to my husband, who's diabetic. He LOVED 'em, and so did I! You would never know they were virtually sugar free. My yield was only about 13 cookies, but I'm sure I must have made them a lot bigger than I was supposed to. lol
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: LDEWITT
Reading this recipe, I am a bit confused. Should I be looking for sugar-free chocolate chips? Aren't chocolate chips a problem?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Louise
This cookie was a huge hit with everyone, especially the kids. They had no idea that it was made without sugar. I did make some changes after reading everyone's comments. I doubled the recipe & still did not get more than 60 cookies - I used a mini scoop. To make the color better, I used 1/2 Splenda & 1/2 Splenda Brown Sugar. Instead of regular chips, I used mini chips (it looked like more chips). I used 1/2 vanilla & 1/2 almond extract. I would definitely make these again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: eegah
very light and flaky. perhaps could use some other flavoring, as the splenda i used provides the main flavor. i left the cookies on the sheet after baking for about 10 minutes, and the bottoms were slightly browned and a little bit crispy. as for diabetics not having chocolate chips, there are only about 4/cookie, coming to ~2g of sugar. so unless you have to be very strict, the chocolate chips are ok. and if you have to be that strict, you probably shouldn't be eating this much white flour either!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Debbie
Very good! I did as others suggested: doubled vanilla, used milk instead of water, used half splenda, half brown sugar, used whole wheat flour, omitted the nuts and flattened before baking. Next time I'll try a sugar-free brown sugar and sugar-free choc chips.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: Big Mama Kaboose
I made these today, for my Diabetic Grandpa. I'm sending them to him for Valentines Day. I tried them, as well as my 3 kids & my boyfriend. We all liked them & thought they were good for having a sugar substitute. I used Splenda like some other people, due to the fact that it has no bitter after taste. I baked them at exactly 10 min & they came out nice & chewy! Thanks for helping satisfy my Gpa's sweet tooth!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Aug 2001
Reviewed by: Jackie
This recipe is great, but instead of using artificial sweetener I used the brown sugar twin and it turned out great. Even my kids loved it. I bake a lot for diabetics and this recipe works great for them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: JUNIORCOOK
I haven't made these cookies yet but i am confused! Can diabetics eat chocolate chips? If someone could write another review and help me it would be great!! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes