My Reviews (64)

Chicken with Lime and Dill

A great way to prepare chicken breasts, and an usual combination of flavours. The chicken comes out moist with a goodly amount of sauce.
Reviews (64)


08 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: kelcampbell
This was a good, very quick, basic dish...but I did change it up a little. I cooked 2 chicken breasts as instructed and when I went to make the sauce, I added 2 cloves of garlic which worked really well with the lime. I also added the zest of about half the lime. It's important to note that while I only used 2 chicken breasts, I made the full amount of sauce, and it was perfect. As suggested by other reviewers, I did not use a 1/2 cup of butter but rather about 3-4 tbsp. The lime zest was not necessary as DH and I found that the lime flavour was just too intense and the lime juice is quite enough. A good recipe, but I would definitely add the garlic!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Allison Nahr
I have had this recipe for years, but have modified it slightly in much the same way as other reviewers. I cut the chicken breasts into smaller pieces, use half a stick of butter, use about a tablespoon of fresh dill and some chopped fresh chives or scallions, and I add just a little flour to thicken the sauce. This goes great with Uncle Ben's original wild rice and corn. I love this because it is so easy to make that I can prep and cook while still keeping an eye on the kids!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: Betty Baker
This dish was yummy but the 1st time I made it, I thought there was way too much butter in it. The butter almost overpowered the lime flavor. Next time I used only half the amount called for and it was just as good or better. This sauce is also really good on cooked carrots.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 May 2002
Reviewed by: TWOTIMEMOM
I used less butter, more lime juice and it still worked great! Yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: Terri
Yum! We loved this! I did change it a bit - cut the chicken breast halves into quarters, cooked them in just a little butter in a nonstick skillet (no vegetable oil). Used 3 tbsp butter for the sauce, not half a cup, and used ground ginger instead of dill weed. Served with rice and fresh asparagus. The chicken was moist and the sauce was perfect! I'll definitely make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: Crystal Naomi Crosby
Wow. I'm a pretty novice cook and a snobby foodie, I've *never* been able to successfully cook chicken. With this recipe's simple directions, the chicken came out tender and juicy. After cooking I put the chicken on a plate and put it in the microwave to keep warm. I used the juice of 1 small-ish lemon and about 3-4 pats of butter for 3 chicken breasts. I loved the tartness, but I'm not partial to dill so I may substitue with something else (someone's suggestion of cilantro sounds delicious!)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: NFELTON
My family thought this was great. I used less butter that suggested, and it was still good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: NonaC
Tasty! Personally, I feel like this lime butter would be better on a milder fish like Tilapia or even a Sea Bass filet, but overall it was pretty good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Betsy Babe
Easy & well-liked by my husband (a huge plus!), I did make a few changes. I used one huge chicken breast & split it for us to share. Used the same amount of ingredients for the sauce EXCEPT for the butter. Yikes, a half cup of butter??!!!! I used MAYBE 2 tablespoons. Also to the lime juice I added two garlic cloves, 1/2 of a serrano chili pepper and maybe 1 tsp of shallots. Instead of the dill (not a fav of my husband), I used fresh basil. I will DEFINITELY repeat this one!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: SalTo
SOOO easy! and DElicious! I got a "very good" and a "yum" from my husband which is saying a LOT! I threw the sliced up chicken on a bed of spinach and used the lime butter as a topping/dressing for all of it. will make again soon-maybe tonight!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes