My Reviews (40)

Bright Coriander Chutney

A lovely Indian style chutney made in the blender. Based on coriander, garlic, ginger, peanuts and lemon juice.
Reviews (40)


28 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: MEDHALEE
Green chutney is simply the best. I have my variations of this: only garlic or only ginger - not both. I prefer it without peanuts. I do add a little of unsweetened grated coconut to give this chutney some body from time to time. A few mint leaves also enhance the flavor. I also add 1/4 tsp of sugar. I love to smother my toast with this chutney and it gives me a welcome and spicy break from all the sweet breakfast dishes like pancakes, cereals, etc. You may want to avoid this if it has garlic though!! Great recipe! As for kids: only Indian and Mexican kids and kids from countries where the cuisine is normally fairly spicy will venture near this recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Jennifer J
This is a really good recipe! My husband tasted the chutney before dinner and decided at that point that "dinner is going to be good tonight". Only thing I did differently was roasted the peanuts in a skillet with a little bit of oil or ghee. I would only recommend this if you are using raw peanut (not pre-roasted).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: LitleLisa1
Tasty and colorful. I served it with chickpea curry (the recipe is also on allrecipes.com). I had a small problem with getting the chutney out of my blender, but other than it was no fuss.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: NARCOSLEEPY
I brought this to a pot luck and had mass raves! The hostess, who claimed to hate cilantro, loved it the most!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: LESKY
We love Indian food and have recently begun experimenting with recipes at home. This green chutney recipe has the authentic taste we want to balance out the other Indian dishes we like to serve. And it really is easy to make. I do think adding a little sugar and fresh mint, such as one reviewer suggested, produces a good flavor balance and also have tried both fresh peanuts and peanut butter. (I think the peanut butter is better, maybe because it blends better.)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: soooz
YUM! This chutney is amazing. I did leave out the peanuts & add mint as several other people suggested, mainly because I was trying to recreate a chutney that I had tried at an excellent Indian restaurant recently. At first I didn't think this one was as good, but my guests raved about it. Then the next day I tasted it again - WOW, so tasty. Thanks very much!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: lwehner
I don't want to rate this as I think I did something wrong- It was too runny and didn't taste good. Is it possible to overprocess this cilantro? It was very soupy. I also didn't taste much cilantro, all I could taste was ginger. I did add the 1/4 tsp sugar and some mint, all to no avail. It ended up in the disposal this time. Any help would be appreciated.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: Kathleen Bayramian
What a delightful chutney-served it with papadams.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
24 Jul 2008
JENNNIFER said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Green chutney is simply the best. I have my variations of this: only garlic or only ginger - not both. I prefer it without peanuts. A few mint leaves also enhance the flavour. I also add 1/4 tsp of sugar. I love to smother my toast with this chutney and it gives me a welcome and spicy break from all the sweet breakfast dishes like pancakes, cereals, etc. You may want to avoid this if it has garlic though!! Great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
27 Jun 2001
Reviewed by: ANICE
No kids to test it on, but I doubt they would be very taken with it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes