My Reviews (191)

Punjabi Eggplant Curry

This is a traditional Punjabi bhurtha made with eggplant and tomato and seasoned with cumin, turmeric, garlic and ginger. Serve with fresh roti or naan.
Reviews (191)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
ANAISLV13 said:
Something else. The taste of this dish is good, but the texture leaves a little to be desired. A better way to cook the eggplant is to slice it in 2.5cm pieces, place the pieces on a paper towel, and lightly salt them. Leave them for at least a half hour (2 hours is ideal), then pat them dry. Cook them at about medium on the stove in some oil, stirring often, for about a half hour or until they lose most of their water and turn a darker colour. The texture and taste of the eggplant really comes out this way. The rest of the recipe was quite tasty.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: BAJATHECAT
Delicious! Just the right balance of spices. Serve with a yoghurt or mint sauce and enjoy it even more.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Emily
At first i passed on this recipe because i thought it would be too much work to broil and peel. Was I wrong!!! SUPER easy recipe. We had an indian night and this by far was our favourite dish. Perfect soft consistency. Pick 2 small eggplants instaed of a large one because it will be more tender and not have the bitter flavour some eggplants get when they're too big. Perfect spices, and the onions are amazing.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
MVADEN said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Good...I cut the eggplant in half and roasted it in the oven at 200 for 30 minutes. I also used a can of tomates with onion instead of the single tomato and ground ginger instead of fresh. Definatey low cal, but there is Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) on this website that I think I better. Thanks, though.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Ricky Lares
This is such an awesome dish. I loooooved it.
 
27 Feb 2015
Reviewed by: MarianneSalome
Simple to make and I like eggplant this way , no skin .
 
22 Jun 2014
Reviewed by: Jeseta
This was a yummy recipe although it was spicy, keep in mind if you prefer mild food. I chopped the eggplant into small cubes and oven baked for 25 minutes rather than the method described here. I also used a can of diced tomatos instead of a fresh one. This is a drier curry not a saucy one like we are often used to at indian restaurants here (butter chicken etc). I will make this again but will omit the cayenne peeper to reduce the spiciness.
 
02 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: gunblade1982
Boom!!! What an Amazing dish. This dish was really really easy to make, although I'd go 2 or more medium - large sized eggplants as 1 really was not enough. The flavour is spot on, however for those who dont like it too hot maybe tone down the cayenne pepper to 1/8 Teaspoon. I don't know if it was the brand I purchased as I usually like it very hot but in this instance 1/4 Teaspoon may be too much for some people.
 
04 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: swandivr22
The taste of this dish is good, but the texture leaves a little to be desired. A better way to cook the eggplant is to slice it in 1" pieces, place the pieces on a paper towel, and lightly salt them. Leave them for at least a half hour (2 hours is ideal), then pat them dry. Cook them at about medium on the stove in some oil, stirring often, for about a half hour or until they lose most of their water and turn a darker color. The texture and taste of the eggplant really comes out this way. The rest of the recipe was quite tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Sharon
At first i passed on this recipe because i thought it would be too much work to broil and peel. Was I wrong!!! SUPER easy recipe. We had an indian night and this by far was our favorite dish. Perfect soft consistency. Pick 2 small eggplants instaed of a large one because it will be more tender and not have the bitter flavor some eggplants get when they're too big. Perfect spices, and the onions are amazing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes