My Reviews (105)

Chicken with Dumplings

This is an easy chicken and dumpling dinner that serves boiled chicken with chicken dumplings that have been boiled in the chicken stock.
Reviews (105)


13 Sep 2015
Reviewed by: MsSanders
Definitely will make again!! Delicious dumplings. Very close to my nana's.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: Megan Infante
I did tweak the recipe a bit. I used a whole cup of broth to make the dough, but added another egg and cup of flour. It tastes amazing! I rolled up my cut pieces of noodle to make small "burrito" shapes. Takes a bit longer to cook all the way to the middle of the pasta, but tastes great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: Daron Rainer
While it takes hours to prepare, the preparations are easy. The dumplings had exactly the consistency and flavor that I had expected. I returned the chicken to the broth before dropping in the dumplings. I also added some onion, carrot, salt, and ground black pepper to the boiling chicken. Without these additions I suspect it may have been a bit bland. The remarkable thing about this recipe is that it easily feeds eight to ten people for less than five dollars.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 May 2013
Reviewed by: Leona Zentner
Love this recipe, it is just like my grandmother used to make.It makes a large pot , but then I double the recipe. My family loves it. I add carrots, pototoes, celery and some garlic and my family just loves it. We are lucky to have any leftovers, lol. This is my go to recipe for family and company...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: brashlynn
My family loved this recipe I made a couple changes I added half chicken bouillon cube to the water that i boiled the chicken in and for flour I used Pioneer brand baking mix and added the broth and egg to it then i added more water into the pan with the chicken broth and 2 cans of cream of chicken soup then I brought that to a boil then added the dumplings to boil turned out super yummy Thanks a bunch for this recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: Kathy
Since I never measure my water when boing my chicken it was a little thin. I just added a can of cream of chicken soup and black pepper...my family was pleased with supper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: Stephanie
This was so good!! I have never been able to make dumplings that were really good until yesterday when I made this. I changed it a little I used sliced chicken breast instead of the whole chicken and about 3 cups of water I filled my crock pot a little bit over half way. My guys loved it. I use self rising flour instead and the egg it really made a huge difference. My guys loved this we will have again :o)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: Koderz
Turned out being just like my Mother's "Chicken and Noodles" when I was finished. Highly suggest adding seasonings to taste, without it the basic recipe is a bit bland.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: alg_252
I agree with the person that said their daughter has a hard time with the dumplings. They are much to hard and dense, and that is the most important part of this meal, so I did not care for it at all.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: MLINDAG
In order to make this recipe work I had to make so many changes. The recipe as is, is not correct. I added onion and celery and spices to the chicken as it cooked. I cut up the chicken and did not put the skin of the breast or back in so I could minimize the fat in the broth. The dough as stated in the recipe could not be rolled out. I probably added an additional 2 cups of flour or so until the dough could be rolled correctly. It could have used some salt. In order to make these dumplings you really need to know a bit about dough and how much flour to add etc. Was I able to make a dish the family enjoyed? Sure, but I had to make so many changes that this recipe as it is stated is not a good recipe. The proportions of flour/chicken broth/egg for the dumplings is incorrect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes