My Reviews (3,961)

Chocolate Chip and Oat Biscuits

Chocolate chips liven up what is otherwise a wonderful oat and walnut biscuit. I love these with hot chocolate on cold winter days.
Reviews (3961)


29 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Marie C.
A good basic cookie, a little heavy on the salt. If your cookies come out flat it is most likely due to over mixing. Cream butter and sugar until very light and fluffy 4 or 5 mins. if you like. Add the dry ingredients and mix by hand just 'till blended. Your cookies will always stay nice and full. Over baking can also cause your cookies to flatten out. Cookies will continue to bake after taken from the oven so don't over do it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: JULIESAM
I did as suggested in other reviews and increased the flour by 1/2 cup and baking soda by 1/2 tablespoon, cut the salt to 1/2 tsp. This made the absolutely best cookies ever!! I made them this afternoon thinking they'd last the rest of the week. No way! Between my husband and two children, they'll be gone by tomorrow night. They're fantastic. I'll make these alot!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: ANGIECROWEATLANTA
I have made this recipe several times now and just had to come back and write a review. After one batch this became the favorite cookie among friends and family. I add a 1/2 cup more oats and use a mix of chocolate anf butterscotch chips. One other tip - chill the mix for 2 hours prior to baking and the cookies won't spread. FANTASTIC!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Fervent Frugal Foodie
This is a really good cookie. Would have given it 5 stars, but did need to increase the flour to 1 3/4 cup and baking soda to 1 teaspoon. If you use margarine or salted butter, DEcrease the salt to 1/4 tsp or just omit altogether. Salt that is suggested in cookie recipes are generally listed for bakers who use UNsalted butter. This made 36 good sized cookies. I chilled the dough for around 30 minutes, due to reading o thers having spreading problems. I made them a tad larger than a 'normal' sized cookie. I did an experiment and baked these (with above changes) at 350 for 12 minutes, they spread too much, became too brown around the edges and were only chewy in the dead center. Next batch I baked at 350 for 10 minutes, then 11, and finally to 12...because anything under 12 the center was still quite doughy but at 12 they spread quite a bit and were more thin and crispy than soft or chewy. At 325, 12 minutes cookies were too raw and any longer and the center would get overbaked. I then set the oven up to 335, yes 335, and baked for 12 minutes. PERFECTO. Results were: the cookie was softer, only very edges were crisp, center was soft and still slightly puffy. My suggestions would be to add about 1/2 cup more flour, and the full tsp of baking soda (you can not taste it and it does not produce a cake like cookie by any means), if you're kitchen is warm- chill the dough for 30 minutes to an hour and bake for the 12 minutes at 335. This is my new oatmeal cookie. Thanks Dr Amy!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: RCBA320
These cookies are AMAZING. I have not met one person who did not like them... I change the recipe a bit and use 1/2 cup of butter and 1/2 cup of applesauce (healthier, plus it makes the cookies more chewy). Also, I use more flour (1 and 1/2 cups) and don't include nuts. GREAT recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: ZESTYGIRL30
Good, but the cookie ended up flat, I added 1/4 cup more flour, 1/2 teaspoon more baking soda, and 1/2 tsp less salt the second time and they came out perfect! YOu must do these adjustments or you will probably have a flat cookie.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 May 2002
Reviewed by: PETERPANAGO
This was such an awful cookie! I followed the ingredients To the EXACT! the cookies were extremely flat, didnt taste too good, and the edges burnt since the cookie turned so flat. I would most definately never make these cookies again. I made 42 cookies and it turned into 3 large flat cookie slabs, and after about 10 minutes, the cookies outsides were too hard.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: RENA21
Excellent, excellent recipe! I've tried several oatmeal cookie recipes and this one definitely is the best. Kudos to the creator. I did modify it a bit because I'm always looking for shortcuts. Instead of doing the individual cookie thing I baked the recipe in 2 cake pans at 350 for about 25-30 minutes and the bars came out totally yummy! This one is a definite keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: OUTATIME257
I altered the recipe by adding 1/4 cup more flour, 1/2 tsp. more baking soda, and 1/2 tsp. LESS salt. I also made it more "healthy" by substituting 1/2 cup of the butter with 1/2 cup applesauce, and also by replacing one of the eggs with 2 egg whites. I did add about 1/3 - 1/2 cup more oats b/c it was a little too wet. My family LOVED them! They are yummy!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: Arleen
Great cookie recipe! Modified it as others have by using 1-1/2 cups flour, 1 teaspoon baking soda, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and chilled the dough for a couple hours. They didn't last too long on the rack because when I wasn't looking, my boyfriend kept stealing them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes