My Reviews (858)

Authentic Tahini Hummus

This is a family recipe, and it's really easy to make. I sometimes like to increase the amount of garlic.
Reviews (858)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Ita said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Really good. To make it better, use chickpeas that you've cooked at home. I use 2 cloves of garlic. By the way, this is the classic "five-point" recipe for hummus. Chickpeas, garlic, lemon juice, tahini, and olive oil. Anything else is a variation thereof.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Kerry said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Home-made hummus is the only way to go! I suggest adding the lemon gradually, to taste, because I used the full amount the first time and it was too lemony for me. I also added more garlic and didn't add the oil or salt since there's already so much sodium in the canned chick peas. Sometimes I add some marinated artichoke hearts to mix for some extra kick. And tahini is a must; peanut butter is no substitute.
 
27 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: susanbl
This is a really good basic houmus recipe. I used two cloves of garlic, but I think it could have used a little more. I also used a whole lemon and I prefer more of a tang. If you want to add more flavour to this classic recipe, you could try ground cumin, smoked paprika or sumac. This recipe is authentic and delicious as is though.
 
01 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Harry_Morant
Great recipe - excellent & authentic
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Cookin in AZ said:
Used different ingredients. I can't believe I had been spending big bucks for hummus! This is fast, easy, inexpensive and GOOD! My whole family, including my thirteen year old, loves it. I didn't have any tahini in the house so I substituted a little peanut butter and some ground sesame seeds to get the nutty flavour. I also added black olives to rave reviews. A definite keeper!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
RMAWHORTER said:
Something else. This is a delicious recipe. I added a Tbsp of honey and used the whole lemon. I also toasted and ground whole cumin seeds for a super fresh flavour. Adjust salt to taste. I used only 1 Tbsp of olive oil for fat reduction, but I used extra virgin, so it still gave lots of flavour. Tips: 1 - some canned chick peas are slightly undercooked (crunchy) and should be boiled for 20 minutes or more before using (if you like a smooth texture). 2 - tahini goes rancid easily so buy it in a jar (not bulk) and keep it in the fridge. 3 - for easier digestion, discard the liquid in the can of chickpeas, rinse them, and use water for blending.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: PAXMOMMY
RECIPE UPDATE I'm the author of this recipe and I wanted to make a few updates. I would use cumin instead of the black pepper. You want 2 cloves of garlic overall. To adjust the texture between creamy and more solid (which is very good also) vary the amount of liquid you drain from the can. The more liquid the creamier, but lately I've been draining all of the can except for 1/2 cup. Use 3 large tablespoons of Tahini instead of 2. Take the salt down to 1/2 teaspoon and add it gradually as the blending occurs. Peanut Butter is no substitute for Tahini! If you're using peanut butter, you're not eating real hummus. Find it at an international food store
 
24 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: ROYHOBBS
RECIPE UPDATE I'm the author of this recipe and I wanted to make a few updates. I now use cumin instead of the black pepper. You want 2 cloves of garlic overall. To adjust the texture between creamy and more solid (which is very good also) vary the amount of liquid you drain from the can. The more liquid the creamier, but lately I've been draining all of the can except for 1/2 cup. I now use 3 large tablespoons of Tahini instead of 2. I also take the salt down to 1/2 teaspoon and add it gradually as the blending occurs. Peanut Butter is no substitute for Tahini! If you're using peanut butter, you're not eating real hummus. Find it at an international food store
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Nicolle
This is a delicious recipe. I added a Tbsp of honey and used the whole lemon. I also toasted and ground whole cumin seeds for a super fresh flavour. Adjust salt to taste. I used only 1 Tbsp of olive oil for fat reduction, but I used extra virgin, so it still gave lots of flavour. Tips: 1 - some canned chick peas are slightly undercooked (crunchy) and should be boiled for 20 minutes or more before using (if you like a smooth texture). 2 - tahini goes rancid easily so buy it in a jar (not bulk) and keep it in the fridge. 3 - for easier digestion, discard the liquid in the can of chickpeas, rinse them, and use water for blending.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 May 2007
Reviewed by: Sarah Zeigler
This is a pretty good starting point for hummus. I'm giving it four stars instead of five because of the name of the recipe. Not to be rude or anything, but because it's misleading. Hummus is a dish that has so many regional variations. And to try and decide which region's is more authentic is a biblical and political debate that I won't touch. BUT- This is pretty good. It may be a bit salty, but for some that's the way it's supposed to be! I say this as a woman with a Turkish mom, who was married to a Greek man (I know...) and who's been to the Middle East. It's like trying to post a BBQ recipe and calling it "Real BBQ". As is, it's good enough for those that just like hummus, but if you are looking for a particular style you may have to tinker with it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes