My Reviews (33)

Easy Hazelnut Biscotti

These are great biscotti that have a great crunch and are great dunked in coffee or hot chocolate. Experiment with other nuts if you don't have hazelnuts.
Reviews (33)


21 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: ALASKABABA
This is the same biscotti I used to buy in Boston's famous North End Italian district. I have searched for years for this. Thankyou!alaskababa
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: TOBSCHOLARLY
This was my first attempt at Biscotti & it came out great! I don't think it was as hard and crunchy as Biscotti is supposed to be, but it was still very good. I could not find Hazelnut Liqueur so I used Caramel liqueur instead. With or without dunking, my co-workers seems to enjoy them!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: EOlivieri
I can't express enough how wonderful these cookies taste!!! Thank you Rosina for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: jayell79
These are a little work and are time consuming but well worth it. I made several big batches for Christmas and everyone RAVED over them!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: luckybell
What went wrong? A very sticky, loose dough. Basically, I just plopped 2 globs on the cookie sheet and hoped for the best. They did come out looking pretty good and so I sliced and baked. I needed to do the 2nd bake for about 30 minutes, flipping them every 10 minutes. Some were still a little soft in the middle but I took them out anyway. When they cooled some were quite hard but they did taste really good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: griffith
I loved this recipe just the way it is, but the second and third time I made it, I changed various things and the base recipe stood up to all my fooling around beautifully. It's very important to really beat the sugar and egg mixture with an electric beater till the mixture is very airy, light and fluffy. In one version I added some melted butter to make the biscotti a bit less hard. In another version I didn't use the hazelnut liquor and used almond, vanilla and a touch of anise instead only with almonds, lots of them, chopped coarsely. In another version I also added some chocolate covered cherries which I chopped into quarters. The point is the base recipe is superb and strong enough to take a lot of innovation. Oh yes, and I found that beating one egg white with some sugar till it starts to thicken and turn white and brushing this over the uncooked loaves, makes a lovely crunchy sweet glaze.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: CASGAMB
Love crisp biscuits, I have given them as Christmas presents
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Dec 2017
Reviewed by: Patricia VanderKooy
My husband loves this recipe because they are strong enough to dunk but soft enough to chew. Must follow directions exactly, except I have used hazelnuts, sliced almonds, or chopped walnuts, all from store-bought bags with good results. I have been using this recipe for over ten years. I prefer adding an extra tsp of almond flavoring & omitting the liqueur. I originally did that due to guests who could not tolerate alcohol in any amount/form, but liked it so much that I’ve stuck with it. Thank you, Rosina, for posting this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Nov 2017
Reviewed by: Bertha tolentino
I sprinkle sugar on top just before putting into oven for cooking and after the first bake and after cutting them, turn on one side and cook for 20 mins, turn to other side and cook 20 mins.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Sep 2017
Reviewed by: vivara
Excellent recipe! Followed it completely, just replaced the liqueur with rum and it was delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes