My Reviews (54)

Butter and Walnut Cake

This simple square cake (I cannot imagine it any other shape) has a distinct butter / butterscotch taste to it and includes a 1/2 cup of ground walnuts.
Reviews (54)


23 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: JulieBlair1979
These are great... but you will enjoy them more with a little help. There is a LOT of sugar here, and that carmelizes when it bakes, so if you overbake these they become hard as a rock when that sugar solidifies on cool down. Watch carefully, and these may seem a little raw when you pull them from the oven. Walnuts ruin these, IMO. Skip those and use shredded coconut instead. Even if you don't like the flavor... it bulks these up and helps retain the moisture and keep these chewy. YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Spellbound
I love these! I substituted 1/2 cup of butterscotch chips for the nuts and they're gloriously chewy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 May 2001
Reviewed by: MIHAELA
Good, but they dry out fast. 32 bars out of an 8x8 in. pan? You're kidding... I don't serve brownies (or for that matter anything else) in pea-sized portions. The recipe makes 9 normal-sized brownies.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Bethany Dasko
I am NOT allowed to make these anymore! I couldn't resist them... I had doubled the batch because I didn't have the right size pan (made them in a 9x13) and I finished them off myself in 3 days. I told my husband (who liked the flavor but doesn't like sweets) to not let me make them ever again unless we are going to some sort of gathering or potluck. They were fabulous!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: KEZ
I'm finding these brownies quite hard to rate. I'm hovering between a 3 and a 4. 4 because I'd just got home from vacation, had very little baking ingredients and wanted a dessert for dinner and these fitted the bill perfectly. 3 because I was disappointed with how thin they were. I used the right size pan and followed the directions exactly, but it could have been something I did. Finally I've decided on a 4 because they tasted good and had a great chewy texture. I will make these again but double the mixture and cook them longer. Thankyou.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Diane Blanchard Angell
I baked for the minimum amount of time, and I didn't have any problem with the sugar carmelizing. They turned out nice and chewy. I loathe walnuts, so I replaced it with another 1/4 cup flour. These brownies aren't overly sweet, so if you're looking for more flavor, I bet throwing in a few butterscotch chips would perk these up! Good recipe overall!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: ANDEEY
These are fabulous! I just loved them! This is a recipe that doesn't call for a bunch of ingredients so they can be made in a pinch. I was sure not to overbake them, I only put them in the oven for 18 minutes and they are PERFECT! I will make again for sure!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: earlybird0367
Would give it more stars if I could! A wonderful change from regular brownies....sinful! Definately double the recipe and increase the vanilla to 1T. I used 4 oz of butterscotch chips and 1/2 C caramelized walnuts.....Definate keeper and hard to resist eating the entire pan by yourself!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jun 2000
Reviewed by: LITTLEMY
I took these to a bridal shower at work and I got so many compliments - the words "divine" and "amazing" came up. Easy to make with a minimum of ingredients, they are the perfect treat to bake on the fly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Brandon Briggs
They are very good, but I think i will stick with the chocolate brownies.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes