My Reviews (51)

Pecan Bars

Gooey and delicious. I love making these bars when I get a fresh big bag of pecans courtesy of a friend of mine who picks them.
Reviews (51)


01 May 2006
Reviewed by: T.
I just finished baking & tasting the Butter Pecan Bars. I changed the recipe due to the ingredients I had on hand. I used self-rising flour instead of all-purpose and I added 3/4 c. choc. chips to the mix. I made sure the sugars and butter were creamed to a fluffy light color. The final outcome was terrific. I can visually see the inside is soft and the outside is chewy. I cooked for 40 min. in a 350 oven. I had some pecans I wanted to use up and I am glad I found this recipe. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: PAMAK
Too good. I made these for a tough crowd-we have several wonderful amateur cooks and one or two culinary professionals. Well, they all hovered over this plate of pecan bars and asked for the recipe. Be sure and let the recipe cool before cutting into bars-less mess.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 May 2002
Reviewed by: LESLIE73
I made these for a cookout so I decided to go ahead and double the batch and cooked in a 9 1/2 by 13 1/2 pan and cooked for 50 minutes and it could have cooked for another 5-7 minutes to be perfect. I even accidentally put in a cup of walnuts and a cup of pecans (oops, I thought the bag I opened was pecans)and everyone still loved them not even noticing the difference. Will definately make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Java_Girl
So yummy! These bars took a lot of patience and tinkering with the timing. On my second try I baked for 60 minutes at 300 degrees and it was just perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: ALLYSON01
I'm not sure what I did wrong here. I followed the recipe exactly. The bars were way too thick and never got completely done, even after cooking them 10+ extra minutes. The recipe sounded great and I really wanted the bars to work out, so I made a second batch and they turned out the same as the first batch. They definitely need to be in a bigger pan than 8x8. I was preparing the bars to take to a party. Even though I wasn't happy with the results, I took them anyway. They didn't turn out pretty, so it was hard to get people to try them. Those that did try them, said they liked them, but there were a lot left over.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: MARIELLEN188
These were really quick and easy!!!! Didn't even pull out the mixer,mixed it all by hand.I did use a larger pan,which probably made them not as gooey,but they were very good and everyone loved them.As we have 16 pecan trees these will be a keeper for sure.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: billie caren
These are good. I wanted them to be more chewy. I cut the flour down by a 1/4 cup. Added a cup of pecans. Bake them in a 300 oven for 50 mins, in a 9 x 13 pan. I liked them much better this way. Thinner and more chewy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: DAWN73
This was absolutely wonderful! It was easy to make, tastes delicious and even my seven year old liked it. I used butter flavored crisco instead of butter and it turned out wonderfully. I'll make this many more times!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Sep 2008
Wow! What more can I say? I actually RUINED these by adding chocolate pieces- it made them unbearably rich! Plus, in my opinion, they were no where near as good when you got a bite of chocolate with the bar- and I LOVE chocolate. The pieces without the chocolate were incredible! I will be making these a lot in the future- WITHOUT THE CHOCOLATE!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Rosemarie Smalls
Unfortunately, mine were not gooey as i had hoped for, but nevertheless this was a great recipe and they were still chewy. i cut down the white sugar to 1/2 cup and added some choc. chips and walnuts and the flavor was awesome. i think next time i will only bake for 35 min. maybe that will make it more gooey will definitely make again..thanks :D
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes