My Reviews (26)

Burnt Sugar Butter Cake

This unique cake was passed on to me from my great grandmother and is dated 1938. It is surprisingly easy; just be super careful when handling the hot sugar.
Reviews (26)


23 May 2001
Reviewed by: PATMAR
I have been looking for this recipe for years. My grandmother use to make this cake. It was my favorite. My grandmother would not measure anything. I don't know how she did it, but the burnt sugar cake always came out perfect everytime. Thank you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: Marie C.
Regarding Hollybells frosting request; A caramel or sometimes called burnt sugar frosting is what I have always used on this and spice cakes. Caramel Frosting V by Carol from this site looks like a possible good choice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: JODIPAUL
This cake didn't even need frosting. I made it in a bundt pan, and simply dusted it with a little powdered sugar. My friends begged me to take large pieces home with them. I let them - I was afraid I'd eat the rest of the cake by myself, in one sitting!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: mirijok
A great recipe! I didn't frost the cake - it was moist and fluffy. As I took it to my work, my co-workers asked what tasty spice it would contain - they couldn't believe it was just burnt sugar. The taste reminded of German Spekulatius. To prevent the crust from tasting bitter, you should be careful not to let it get too dark. And one of my co-workers suggested to make the caramel syrup by cooking the sugar with the water from the beginning on, as I told her it bubbled up very high when I added the water to the boiling sugar. I would definitely make the cake again and try the suggested caramel procedure. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: laura
I made this for my husband's borthday and the whole thing was gone within 24 hours. Simply fabulous!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Amybean
The texture of this cake was great, and I liked it quite a bit with a thin vanilla sugar glaze. But I brought it to a party, and nobody liked it! I had to explain to people that it was supposed to taste like caramel, but nobody was sold. I'm certainly not going to make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: HOLLYBELL
Tender, delicate, mild-flavored cake. I thought it grand with just a sprinkling of powdered sugar. Others thought it would be best with some type of frosting. I would love frosting recommendations from anyone reviewing this recipe-
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 May 2011
Reviewed by: laurielid
As a child, we used to get burnt sugar cakes for our birthday and i remember them being excellent. This recipe did not disappoint my image of that brown delicious burnt sugar cake. I added a buttercream icing with a teaspoon of maple extract to top this feast. I took this to a bbq and everyone loved it. Thanks for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Beatrix
The burnt sugar became hard, so I left it out & the cake was still very nice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: shawn
excellent nice flavor. nice and fluffy. this is a keeper thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes