My Reviews (158)

Cream Cheese Icing with Honey

This cream cheese icing is suitable for many cakes such as vanilla, chocolate, banana or fruit cake.
Reviews (158)


31 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: MIDNIGHT_ANGEL
Upon seeing this recipe... I knew I wanted to try it. It seemed simple and the ingredients were already in my kitchen on hand. With further reading of the reviews I was wondering. I already know my families tastes. So, I took down the amount of almond extract just a tad. It was very good!! When I read the review of : "Yuck, I will never try this again!" - I get discouraged. A world and cooking is give and take. Don't just trash it - try it again - Experiment with the ingredients to find the right flavor for your tastebuds. You might just find a winner recipe melting in your mouth. Happy Cooking !!!!! ~MA~
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Violet
I followed this recipe AND included 1/2 tsp almond extract. I had no problem with the flavor. I consider myself a seasoned baker with a good amount of experience. I suspect that those who did not like the flavor might have used imitation extracts instead of pure extracts. The difference between the two is exponential. I don't allow imitation anything in my house. Had I made the icing with imitation extract I would have spit it out myself. I feel it is unnecessary to melt the butter, just get it to room temp first before adding to the cream cheese. If you like cream cheese icing, there's nothing not to like with this recipe. I did not increase the amounts of anything in this recipe and found it a nice side complement to the Martha Stewart Spicy Pumpkin Bundt Cake Recipe which is excellent. Also followed that recipe exactly. There is not much volume because this has less butter and sugar than normal cream cheese icing so if you need a lot, double the recipe or consider adding more brown sugar and butter. It was not grainy at all. The since all the ingredients are room temp, the sugar dissolves and blends in just fine. I used honey that was created locally, not commercial mass marketed honey. I don't think this recipe needs more sugar. The point is to eat it with the cake in your mouth which has sugar in it already. You'll find the flavors meld well. But if you eat it alone, don't expect it to taste like high fructose processed icing from a container. It tastes like cream
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Nov 2000
Reviewed by: MECHELLE
I can't believe more people haven't tried this recipe, It is one of the best cream cheese frosting I have ever had. My husband likes me to double the recipe so he can eat it straight from the bowl, I have been making up recipes just to use this frosting. For my daughters birthday I made a triple chocolate cake and used this frosting everyone went crazy over it, first time I didn't have cake left over.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: SCFD Fire Station 6
Omit the almond extract. I made this recipe for a carrot cake. The almond overpowered the rest of the flavors and no one really like it. Started over with just the vanilla and it was so much better. Will make again with just the vanilla next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: spence
Great complimentary taste to carrot cake. For a 9X13, I doubled the butter, cream cheese, vanilla, omitted the almond and honey ... and increased the brown sugar to 8 Tbls. I also stirred in a cup of drained, crushed pineapple. Very nice flavor! Thanks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Sep 2000
Reviewed by: TARBABYZAN
Mmmmm. Not too sweet. Just perfect for carrot cake. My husband isn't supposed to have sugar but there is so little in this that we made an exception and he did fine!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Chris Hettler
Fantastic cream cheese frosting recipe. Especially if you do not have confectioner's sugar on hand! I made it with the full amount of almond extract and it is good, but you have to like almond extract. You could easily do with out it. There is enough flavor there with the vanilla, ceam cheese, and honey. I put this frosting on the onebowl chocolate cake III on this site (made cupcakes, with hot coffee substituted for the boiling water) It made an intense dark chocolate flavor and so I needed a not so sweet but flavorful frosting. Fantastic together. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: marywitky
Can't say enough about this frosting. It is truly delicious and different. I will always use it as my standard cream cheese frosting. One note: You might want to make double the recipe Its that good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 May 2010
Reviewed by: kumquatgirl
This was great! I was looking for a frosting for a spice cake that didn't require powdered sugar, as I was all out. I read the reviews and noted that some people said there wasn't enough to frost a whole cake, and as I was frosting a two-layer 9-inch round cake, I added half of another package of cream cheese just in case (and adjusted other ingredients accordingly). It's a good thing I did - I would have had to REALLY stretch if I had made it as written, and I don't load my cakes with frosting, either. Also, I didn't have almond extract, but I think it would have been divine if I had. If you're looking for a super-sweet, sugary frosting, this isn't it. But personally, I don't like frostings so sweet my teeth hurt just by being in proximity, so this was awesome.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: ONIOND
Amazing light, fluffy frosting! The flavor is just different enough from traditional cream cheese frosting to notice. I did substitute Neufchatel for the cream cheese and I think it tastes great anyway. I absolutely love it, thanks for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes