My Reviews (68)

Blueberry Cake with Streusel Topping

This blueberry cake with streusel topping is both tasty and pleasing to the eye. You can use either fresh or frozen blueberries.
Reviews (68)


12 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: naples34102
As I write this review, this recipe has only a few people who have reviewed it and an average rating of just four stars--what a shame. I hope more bakers give this recipe a chance and bring that rating up to five stars where it belongs! I added 1/2 tsp. of vanilla to the batter and substituted butter for the margarine called for in the streusel, keeping all else the same. I kind of had the feeling when I saw the ingredients called for vegetable oil (rather than butter or even shortening) that this would be moist and that's exactly what this is--moist, flavorful, and bursting with blueberry flavor. The topping amount is just right, with a pleasing buttery crunch. I have made several of these coffeecakes or "buckles," over the years, one in particular that has been my favorite for over 40 years. But as good as that recipe is, THIS recipe beats it hands down for moistness. In fact, I think this is the finest recipe of its kind I've ever had!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Jillian
This is a great brunch cake for any day of the week. It's moist, delicious, bursting with blueberries and topped with a crisp buttery streusel. I followed the recipe exactly and added 1/2 tsp. of vanilla to the batter. I baked it in an 8x8 pan and was very pleasantly suprised with the results.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Emma
How can you not love the name of this cake? With a newly purchased 4 pound bag of blueberries tucked in my freezer and my 2 grandkids scheduled for an overnight with us, I was searching for a special breakfast treat. I made this, pretty much according to directions, and half a cake later we all declared it a winner. It was moist, flavorful, and had just the right amount of blueberries. I added vanilla to the batter and substituted butter for margarine in the crumb topping as suggested by Naples. I also used brown sugar instead of white in the topping. It was delicious; however, next time I'll probably stick with the granulated sugar and try a little nutmeg instead of cinnamon. I have a favorite blueberry muffin recipe that calls for a dusting of sugar and nutmeg and we really love that flavor combination. For those who had issues with this being too dry or needing extra baking time, some things to check are pan size, oven thermostat, and your pan material. Some pan coatings require lowering your oven temperature by 25 degrees.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: amydoll
Very moist cake but it was missing something. Next time I'll add a splash of vanilla, as Naples suggested.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: LADYBUG222
This is a simple cake that turns out moist and delicious! Highly recommended!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: cookin' for cash
Moist and yummy!! I used butter instead of margarine in the topping, added the zest of one lemon and 1/2 teaspoon vanilla to the batter, and baked it in a 7 X 9 pan.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: LinD
Yummy,the whole family enjoyed it. Will make it again!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: Tracie
I just made this and amazing can't wait to make it again with blue berry's. I did have to make one change as the frozen blueberry were freezer burnt so I had to use frozen Raspberry. WOW. 10 stars.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Rollin
Well I'm not sure what to think just yet. I followed the recipe with no changes for the first time. It is moist. It could definitely use some vanilla. It's not bad, I'm just not finding it up to par for a coffee cake. Something is missing. I will make this one again and play a little.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jun 2016
Reviewed by:
I think this cake is truly wonderful. It is great made just how the recipie stated, but to increase flavor, adding about 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract and lemon zest according to how you like the taste (I use around just over 1 1/2 tbsp. for a stronger aroma) might be something to try. I made it just the way the recipie said (except that I accedentally use almond milk) the first time through, then tweaked it with lemon and vanilla. This is actually the third time I have made this and I also plan on making this for Fourth of July. It is a very moist and easy cake, and I see that as a good thing. I do think adding some vanilla (as most of the other comments said) wouldn't hurt, but still, This recipie is definetly a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes