My Reviews (276)

Fish Stew with Lime, Cumin and Paprika

This is a simplified version of a common Brazilian dish that I remember from my childhood. You can use any firm-fleshed white fish.
Reviews (276)


20 Jan 2017
Reviewed by: RachaelLewis-McCormack
I served it with rice. absolutely delicious. quick and easy and full of flavour. will add a dash of chilli powder next time, I think that would be nice also.
 
16 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: TheTDot
Fabulous stew. I would recommend a few tweaks: The listed amount of bell peppers is a bit much. Half the amount of bell peppers is more than enough. I'd also do half red, half yellow bell peppers for added color. As well, I'd recommend a fish that is more firm/less flaky than tilapia. I used cod and it turned out great. Finally, a pinch of chili flakes for an extra bit of zing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: hassmurphy
This recipe was excellent. It was relatively easy to make and didn't take much time. I used more than the recommended lime which I would suggest. This fish stew could have as easily passed as a Thai recipe. If you like Thai food try this dish. I am also going to make this again substituting the fish with shrimp or chicken.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Tuttifruttigirl
I'm from Brazil, and this is one of my fave dishes. I personally don't use garlic on fishes... It kind of is a bit "too much". Also, that amount of pepper is used by Northern people more than at other parts of the country., but if you like it...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Julie
This is more like 4.5 stars. I have a local place here that does this style cooking in a muqueca (clay pot) I don't have a clay pot but still wanted to make it and found this recipe to closest to what my restaurant does. I made this with mahi. It held up very well in the pot. I would suggest using it since other fish may flake easy. I didn't have actual cumin but added a dash of adobo which does. I also added chopped green onion for more color. I only used 1 red bell pepper. I wouldn't think you would need more then 2 peppers cause they tended to take away from the coconut milk flavor. I served it over some basmati rice and garlic bread for dipping and we were happy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Oct 2010
Yum! My recommended changes are: replace tilapia with cod, esp. dried cod that's been soaked overnight beforehand; add 1 large potato and 1 large tomato; reduce the green peppers by 2-3; and squeezing lime juice onto it at the end or just before serving.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: erica vee
YUM! I had a nasty cold and a lot of haddock on hand and I wanted a spicy fish stew recipe to help clear my head. This was perfect! I used haddock for the fish, and I didn't have any bell peppers, so I used zucchini. The citrusy flavor is wonderful and along with a few added dashes of hot sauce it really helped my cold. I ate two bowls full! I will definitely make more of this.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Bon
This was great. I didn't have coconut milk so I used skim milk plus about a Tablespoon of sugar. It's probably not the same as coconut milk, but still yummy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 May 2010
Reviewed by: shik shak shok :]
I loved this! I used 13oz of tomatoes and coconut milk because that is what I had on hand and only one yellow bell pepper (not a fan), and it was still perfect! I'll definitely being using this regularly, it was easy to make and cheap.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Krista
My family loves this stew. It is a different and delicious way to enjoy tilapia which we eat quite a lot of. The only thing I changed was that I left out the peppers as we don't really like them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes