My Reviews (74)

Muffins with Bran Flakes

A simple muffin recipe using bran flakes cereal. You can keep the batter in the fridge and make them fresh as needed.
Reviews (74)


10 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: HalfBaked
I've baked a lot of bran muffins in my day. This by far takes the cake. I was skeptical at first about the Bran Flakes and buttermilk, but the end product was deleted any and all doubts. When I made them, I divided the recipe in half (seeing that it made for it made quite a few servings). From there, I substituted margarine for shortening (surprisingly made no difference in texture or volume, only intensified the taste), used whole wheat pastry flour instead (again, no difference, just a boost in nutrition), swapped a 1/3 cup of sugar for 2 tbs. of honey, and FINALLY coated the top of the muffins with brown sugar before baking. This made for a delicious and presentable muffin that is more pleasing to the eye than just a regular old bran muffin. So I made a few personal alterations.. nothing major. I'm sure the basic, original recipe would bake out the same results. All in the all, the muffins were amazingly tasty and had even the pickiest eaters coming back for seconds..and thirds. PS: I refrigerated them overnight.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: Sharon
Delicious! I have a fresh baked muffin every morning! I love that! I used All Bran cereal buds instead of flakes, substituted whole wheat flour for half of the all-purpose and added a couple tablespoons more milk to compensate. I used a combination of sugar and Splenda to bring the sugar content down (I'm a diabetic). They turned out great. I tink that I'll add walnuts to my muffin tomorrow!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: SANDRA DEE
Oh my goodness! Who knew bran muffins could taste so GOOD and moist?! I was hesitant to make such a big batch but based on the other reviews I took the plunge. I'm now whipping up the second batch 2 days later! I made these so my girls would have fresh, healthy muffins for their first day of school and they inhaled them! I used raisin bran for the cereal and because the batter sits overnight, the raisins plumped up nicely. This morning I added some chocolate chips and walnuts and made a dozen more. Fabulous! Tomorrow I'll add shredded carrots & walnuts to the last of it. Thanks for the great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: Fifi
I was a bit suspicious about this recipe and its reviews. My very first attempt at making muffins. They were fantastic. I bought Kellogs All Bran buds by mistake and used those instead, used 1/2 a cup of shortening and topped the rest of the cup with Organic Apple Sauce. I only used 2 cups of sugar, brown sugar and added a cup of chopped walnuts. Oh, I also used whole wheat flour instead of white flour. I was suspicious of the batter when I looked at it almost a day and a half later but perservered and would you know it - fantastic muffins. I probably overbaked them by a minute! Next time, I will make the following changes: use whole wheat flour, bran flakes, 2 cups of brown sugar, 1/2 cup shortening and 1/2 cup apple sauce and add walnuts. The magic is the batter lasting 6 weeks - how good can this be!!!! It's funny, I seemed to make so many changes from the recipe which is daft really - how can you judge a recipe if you make all these changes - yet they were fantastic and I will stick to my changes. 4 weeks later: I would like to add that the mixture didn't however make 48 muffins. I only got 36 and mine weren't enormous.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jan 2001
Reviewed by: lenihan5
Bran muffins can often come out dry but this was very good and even moist enough to enjoy! After they were cooked I let them cool in the pan for a few minutes, popped them out, drizzled about a teaspoon of honey on the bottom of the tin and put them back in for several minutes to soak it up (trying to duplicate the gooey and sweet product at my local bakery). It worked!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: dyoung
I made this recipe and brought muffins to my co-workers without even trying them. They were very easy to make. Definitely a keeper recipe. These muffins are moist,tender and not too sweet.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2000
Reviewed by: MOMK3
its quick to put it together but then you have to wait until the next day to use the batter. imy family and i loved the ability to have fresh hot muffins in the morning when it usually the craziest.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: copes006
Very easy and very delicious! I experimented with raisins, with honey and just plain and found all to be good. I also used wheat bran instead of flakes (much easier).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: ROWAN1099
Wow....these were awesome!!!! We were looking for a way to add more bran/fiber in our diet and these muffins take the cake (ha ha...) We followed the advice of another reviewer and subbed 4T of honey for 2/3c white sugar, subbed whole wheat flour for half of the all purpose flour and sprinkled brown sugar on top. I also added about 1 t of cinnamon to the batter and made some raisin/walnut muffins and some choc chip/walnut muffins. My husband loves them and they would be great for company...make the batter days ahead of time and just bake them fresh in the morning!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: SLACKCEM
I was pleasantly surprised with this recipe. My kids loved these muffins, even my picky pre-teens. I did top with brown sugar per another sugggestion. Thanks for the great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes