My Reviews (216)

Blueberry Cake with Pecans

This yummy blueberry coffee cake is topped with a crunchy and sweet pecan mixture called streusel. You can use fresh or frozen blueberries for this recipe.
Reviews (216)


20 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: BRENOLA
Great recipe! I made three alternations. First, I added a little more milk as suggested by another reviewer so that the total amount was a little less than 3/4 c. It made it super easy to spread in the pan. Second, I substituted slivered almonds for the pecans. Third, I added 2 T almond extract to the batter...the house smelled wonderful as it cooked for about 50 minutes. Be sure to use fresh blueberries so you don't get the bleeding from frozen blueberries. Thankfully, they are in season now so 2 cups should cost about $2.50. Overally, a great recipe - one that I am sharing at a potluck tonight with friends.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Debra
This cake was so good, my husband loved it. I did add alittle more milk almost 3/4 cup. I added 1 tsp vanilla & 1/2 tsp almond extract. I cooked it on 350 for approx. 50 minutes, just keep checking it to make sure you do not overcook it. I used blueberries I had frozen as I pick lots each year. Do not unthaw the berries. I put on a papertowel to absorb the frost if there is some. I then mix them with 1-2 tbsp flour very gently. This really does make a difference when baking with frozen blueberries. I will make this cake from now on. Debra
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Jan
truly the best coffee cake I've ever made. It recieved great raves from my bible study group. I used frozen berries making the batter stiff and spreading in the pan a bit challenging butit did not affect the end result. Spectacular!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: antiquegrrl
This coffee cake was wonderful! I didnt add the pecans because I didnt have any on hand. I also just baked it in a 9x9 greased pan. It was beautiful when I took it out of the oven. I am making it again for a friend today. Delicious!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: buckh
thanks a ton, Donean! as others suggested, added the 1/4 C milk and it worked simply and perfectly. (i also nixed the cinnamon in the streusel, just cause that seemed sorta outta sorts with blueberry to me) just remember to try not to mix too much before incorporating the blueberries and to throw the batter into the pan directly afterwards so the berries don't have time to settle out last variation i can attest to is using a tube pan and layering the streusel on top about 5 or 10 minutes before the cake was done, after the cake had set sufficiently so that i didn't deform it (unlike the first time). returning the cake to the oven for the last 5 or 10 minutes. then you need to do a bit of flipping to serve streusel-side-up, but it's pretty resilient stuff
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: JOHNTHEBEAR
Wonderful coffee cake with great topping! I made one slight alteration by substiting 2 tsp. vanilla for an equivalent quantity of the milk. I did notice that it took more like an hour to finish rather than 45 minutes, but that may just be my oven. Highly recommended.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: WENDYDARLING
Great recipe! This is a good-not too sweet(very moist at 350 for 42 minutes) cake with a crunchy topping and generous amount of blueberries. Very pretty in my glass cake keeper(I like that it took a springform pan as it was pretty enough to serve to company) It was easy to make and dissappeared quickly even though I forgot to add the cinnamon. I'm not sure I'll add it next time either! My husband loved it with milk on it and I had a hard time keeping him away from it. A keeper for sure!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Chris I.
I made this for overnight guests to serve as breakfast. They loved it! Very simple to make and delicious. It is not very sweet, which is great for my personal taste, but those who like it sweeter may want to add more sugar--either in the batter or topping.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: TN Monkeymomma
OMG! Everyone loved it. I did add extra milk as other reviewers recommended.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Chef Joy
TIPS TO MAKE SURE IT'S NOT DRY!!: Definitely needs 3/4C of milk. I trade up adding 1t vanilla and 1t almond extract. ...and it took me 50 min to bake, so use the tried and true toothpick method. I only ever have fresh blueberries that I've frozen... and I just defrost in microwave (uh...using defrost feature ) ...and then put a heaping T of flour over them to absorb the moisture. I also can't imagine using ALL the topping. Would make it sink. I use half ...IF that. Turns out wonder, moist, and oh so delicious that I almost hate having to share with my family
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes